Diagnosing and Fixing Limp mode for A4 1.9TDI [low power troubleshooting]

Canadian_Grizzly

Veteran Member
TDI
02 Jetta TDI
Diagnosing and Fixing Limp mode for A4 1.9TDI
By Canadian Grizzly

Read the entire post prior to jumping to conclusions.

This is a general overview on how to diagnose and fix a A4 1.9TDI that goes into “limp” mode due to an overboost of the turbo. While I’m by no means an expert I’ve gleaned this information through information on this forum and my own experiences.

Limp mode happens when you are accelerating, often up a hill, or passing and the car suddenly seems to lose all power. Power is immediately restored when you cycle the ignition. What has happened is the computer has sensed that the turbo has created too much boost and the computer shuts it off and goes into safe mode.

There are a number of different reasons why the car may overboost… some being very simple to verify and fix and others more complex. The majority of overboosts are created by:

Bad Maf (Oxygen Sensor)
Leak in the vacuum system
Faulty N75
Bad actuator
Dirty gummed up turbo causing variable vanes to jam or stick

Some members have experienced overboost due to coked up intakes as well. This is a maintenance issue. See below for links.

If it only occurs occasionally try to find a long uphill slope on the highway and try to accelerate and reproduce limp mode. This will help later to see if the problem is resolved when you try again with similar circumstances.

Bad MAF
One of the easiest to check...but you will get a CEL (Check Engine Light). All you have to do is disconnect the MAF and give it a test drive. If power is same or improved, replace. Read this thread for one example... http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=215165

Vacuum Leaks