Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2015 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)

Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) The place of handling, lighting and other upgrades that do not relate to the performance or economy of the TDI engine. In other words upgrades to your TDI that don't fit into TDI Fuel Economy & TDI Engine Enhancements.Please note the Performance Disclaimer

Thread Tools
Old May 18th, 2007, 14:14   #1
Greg82's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal
Question Need help on installing amplifier and subwoofer.


I have a Jetta 2000, and i would like to install an amp and sub. Whats the best way to pass amplifier wiring trough the dashboard.

I used to have golf and it was easy, from a first glance it seemed complicated on a jetta, and i dont want to break anything.

Thx for your help.
Greg82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 15:00   #2
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Leander Texas
Fuel Economy: avg 38-40mpg

I passed my wiring through a rubber gromet under the dash. If you look under the dash behind the pedals, at the top edge of the carpet there is a rubber gromet with nothing coming through it. I pulled the gromet out, drilled a hole in it, then put it back. Wires slide right through. So does everything else, so I would say only big enough to get the wire through. I have a few wires and my boost gauge tubing coming through there. Its perfect for routing it to anywhere in the car.

If I remember right, the hole is at least 2" in diameter which should be big enough to get even a 2 gauge wire through.

Hope this helps.
02DslPwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 20:25   #3
Veteran Member
mtltdi's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Fuel Economy: 63.21/46.88/30.25

The grommet above the pedals is the best location tro pass the power wire. You'll need to remove the lower dash panels to get access to it. I've removed mine about 100x so I can get it all apart pretty quickly. If you pm me your location I could give you a hand if you like.
My Page
mtltdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2007, 07:37   #4
Veteran Member
cosmic's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: KY, USA
Fuel Economy: 53/42/38

Yes, the factory empty grommet on the firewall almost directly behind the "go" pedal" is the best location to bring the power cable from the battery.

I am guessing you are going to locate said sub and amp in the trunk?

If so, then you will need to get the power cable back there, as well as determine how you are going to get signal.

I would run the power cable over to the driver side sill, and then down the sill trim to get it to the back and into the trunk. You'll be pulling off much of the lower trim when you do this. Not a big deal, but it takes some time to be thorough and not break anything. A Bently manual and its pics are a great asset in this endeavor.

Once you get the power back there, you will run a ground wire from somewhere on the frame, as short as possible, to the amp. when you get all that trim off, you may find a threaded stud or two that may work for your application (low power, higher gauge wire) with some sanding, or you may wish to drill and sand a location somewhere on the sheet metal (higher power, lower gauge wire).

Lastly, you have to get signal back there. You may be pulling this from speakers, monsoon amp, or direct from an after market head. If the latter, be sure to run it down the OTHER (passenger?) sill so its not running parallel with a power cable for a distance.

Good Luck!
2001 Silver Arrow Jetta TDI 5spd.
cosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2007, 09:01   #5
Veteran Member
Zero10's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Calgary, AB

I tapped the terminal strip under the D/S of the dash, there is a large-ish (#4?) wire on the terminal strip there, and I just attached a #8 wire with a ring terminal directly underneath it. Ran it under the driver's side door trim and all the way back to the hatch.
I tapped both rear speakers at the B pillars and used the high level inputs on my amp.
I tapped the remote turn-on wire for my phatbox to trigger the turn-on on my amp.

I also use the #8 power wire to feed my trailer lighting controller as well.

I have a rockford fosgate 10" punch stage 1 in a 0.6ft^3 sealed box with a small clarion mono amp on the top. Extremely small footprint, but it still pounds hard enough to mess with your voice
87 Porsche 951
05 Golf GLS TDI
Zero10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2007, 17:09   #6
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Prescott, AZ

Originally Posted by Zero10

I have a rockford fosgate 10" punch stage 1 in a 0.6ft^3 sealed box with a small clarion mono amp on the top.
Now this is the kind of info I've been combing the threads for. What kind of power are you running on that amp?
Anybody else?
Any box, woofer, amp (size/make) recommendations for adding on to a Monsoon system?

2003 Jetta TDI Wagon

A_Shifter is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2015, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.13004 seconds with 9 queries
[Output: 71.53 Kb. compressed to 62.22 Kb. by saving 9.31 Kb. (13.01%)]