www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)

Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) The place of handling, lighting and other upgrades that do not relate to the performance or economy of the TDI engine. In other words upgrades to your TDI that don't fit into TDI Fuel Economy & TDI Engine Enhancements.Please note the Performance Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 26th, 2006, 13:44   #1
jamgood96
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
TDI(s): '03 Golf GLS
Default Wiring Sub Amp to Monsoon Stereo?

I'm curious, what would be involved in wiring a sub amp up to the monsoon stereo? I have an '03 Golf. Is there a sub output on the backside of the stereo? Thanks!
jamgood96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2006, 20:39   #2
madrean
Veteran Member
 
madrean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Victoria, TX
TDI(s): 02 Golf
Fuel Economy: upper 40s now that wife is driving...
Default

i used a piggy back dealio thing that basically splices into the speaker wires coming off the amp in the trunk. it has RCA outputs that run to your sub amb.

for the power, i drilled a hole in the fire-wall (just kinda eyeballed it and prayed). worked out ok. (put a grommet around it).

attached a wire connector to the wire so that i could tap directly on the battery terminal.


for the remote power, i found a fuse that is always "on" whenever the car is on and basically attached the remote wire to one of the legs. then, i ran it under the trim and into the back of the car.

for the ground, i found a nut somewhere in the back by the amp and attached the wire to it.

but to answer your question, i don't know if there is a specific sub output.

unless your amp has a built-in crossover, you'll need one before your amp since i don't think the monsoon has one.

enjoy.

drink some red wine, too. or a homebrew.
madrean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2006, 06:40   #3
vwcampin
Veteran Member
 
vwcampin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Omaha
Default

Go over to VWVortex and do a search. There are quite a few write ups over there regarding this. From memory, I do not believe there is an output on the stock head unit
__________________
02 Jetta GLS TDI, Auto, 212k, W8 mod, Audi TT Pedals, Euro Switch, '04 Tails, rear fog, Homelink, GLX Lights w/ fogs, VW 17" Siata wheels, TDI Heater, PP357's, Venectomy, modified Greasecar kit
86 Vanagon Syncro Westy Weekender, 07 Passat Wagon 4Motion
vwcampin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 09:08   #4
fishmando
Veteran Member
 
fishmando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Burlington, VT
Default

You would be MUCH better off with a new head unit IMHO... It would make the Monsoon speakers sound pretty decent... Then if you want to add a sub, it would be super easy!
__________________

fishmando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 13:04   #5
jamgood96
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
TDI(s): '03 Golf GLS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmando
You would be MUCH better off with a new head unit IMHO... It would make the Monsoon speakers sound pretty decent... Then if you want to add a sub, it would be super easy!
you're probably right, but i don't want to spend that much money just so I can wire in one sub. plus, it would look awful having a different colored headunit with the blue and red gauge cluster lighting. i'll think about putting a new HU in if i'm not happy how it sounds with the factory one.
jamgood96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 14:06   #6
mtltdi
Veteran Member
 
mtltdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Fuel Economy: 63.21/46.88/30.25
Default

Do you have a Double Din radio, or a Single Din?
__________________
My Page
mtltdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 15:02   #7
jamgood96
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
TDI(s): '03 Golf GLS
Default

Double Din I believe.
jamgood96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2006, 10:00   #8
fishmando
Veteran Member
 
fishmando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Burlington, VT
Default

I have a sony head unit which has a blue display. It looks great and sounds SOOOOOOOO much better than the stock double din monsoon... Then I added my 10" in a sealed box and 800watt amp and now it sounds really good.

I really recommend getting a new head unit as your first stereo upgrade.
__________________

fishmando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2006, 10:12   #9
SilverGhost
Veteran Member
 
SilverGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Clarksvile, TN MOVED!
Fuel Economy: 26 - 58 mpg
Default

I have an 05 Golf. Stereo shop has a box that you tap to a speaker wire. It uses this to convert to line level (RCA's) for your amp AND to turn the amp on. When it sees a signal to the speaker it supplies a +12 signal to you amp. In my car the sub works when ever the radio is on, whether I have the key in the ign or not.

Other thing, there are several unused holes in the "firewall". Just dig around up under the padding a bit. Or you could just get power from the relay panel (5 studs with cables on the bottom) the big red cables and "30" are battery power. This should work fine unless you are going big thumpin'
SilverGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2006, 11:31   #10
mtltdi
Veteran Member
 
mtltdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Fuel Economy: 63.21/46.88/30.25
Default

I would definitely recommend going straight to the battery for the safest installation. Also, if you put in LOC's I recommend putting them near the HU so that if you change your radio for an aftermarket, the RCA's will already be run to the front of the car.
__________________
My Page
mtltdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2006, 11:56   #11
jamgood96
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
TDI(s): '03 Golf GLS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmando
I have a sony head unit which has a blue display. It looks great and sounds SOOOOOOOO much better than the stock double din monsoon... Then I added my 10" in a sealed box and 800watt amp and now it sounds really good.

I really recommend getting a new head unit as your first stereo upgrade.
What sony HU are you running?
jamgood96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16318 seconds with 9 queries
[Output: 97.60 Kb. compressed to 81.81 Kb. by saving 15.79 Kb. (16.18%)]