www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2013 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 21st, 2006, 09:28   #1
Charm
Veteran Member
 
Charm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Fuel Economy: 44
Default My radio stopped working

I got into my car this morning and my radio did not turn on.
To keep this short and sweet I will list the perinant facts.

1. I use a ciglighter powered FM-modulated Sirius radio, it was turned off through the night
2. All other electrics seemed to work, the car itself seemed fine

now here is where it gets interesting:
3. I knew there was a CD inside of it, so I hit eject. nothing came out, but the little red security light blinked at me every time I hit eject.

does anybody think that maybe the radio thinks it was stolen and has shut itself off?

Do you think it could be heat/humidity. It was almost 90 degrees this morning in Bmore. its very humid here.

If the radio is dead it could not have come at a worse time.
I had been away from this scene for a bit over 2 years until recently, and for the last 6 months I had been eyeing my next mod to spend 3K$ s to get an Eclipse doubledin navigation and MB Quart speakers, and a 4ch amp.

I recently put that on hold and went with G60/Vr6 clutch kit, PP520, and change my chip from Speedtuning to Rocketchip. I am on a waiting list for the nozzles and pending appointments for the jobs to be done.

My car has is a 2002 Jetta TDI GLS with 49.5K miles. It has the double din headunit and it has steering wheel controls(which yes wil work with aftermarket headunits)

thanks for your thoughts
Charm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 17:29   #2
Charm
Veteran Member
 
Charm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Fuel Economy: 44
Default

i need to append something.

the little red led security is blinking continously, i just did not notice because it is always blocked by a cup.

i just got hold of a VAG-COM and updated it to 607

all i know how to do is to run the general diagnostics that shows fault codes
if you have any suggestions on the vag-com angle please share thanks

Last edited by Charm; July 22nd, 2006 at 17:33.
Charm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 20:28   #3
ibrickey
Member
 
ibrickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Princeton Wi. On the Fox River
Fuel Economy: 40 Something
Default

I'v Had this problem 2 or 3 times already
1st time i drove 60 mils. to the dealer and all they did was pull
out the radio fuse..#25? i think? For about 60 seconds And put it back in.
And it Worked fine.
The next time it happened i did the same thing my self..And It Worked.
I did'nt need the radio Code eather time.
Good thing because i do'nt have it.
My car is an 02 Golf Monsoon Radio/Cd/Tape
*** Rickey The Brickey *********************** :-/
ibrickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 20:42   #4
ibrickey
Member
 
ibrickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Princeton Wi. On the Fox River
Fuel Economy: 40 Something
Default

AND..YES
The little RED light will blink..
Even when the radio is not working.
** Rrickey :-/ ****************
ibrickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 20:47   #5
20IndigoBlue02
Veteran Member
 
20IndigoBlue02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North NJ
Default

It's fuse #42 in the dash fuse panel.

Pull it out for about a minute and reinstall fuse.
20IndigoBlue02 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 22:51   #6
weedeater
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reston, VA
Fuel Economy: 54/43/38
Default

There is a recall of these radios. the dealer will replace them ONLY if they see the problem for themselves.
__________________
It may seem like I am doing nothing, but on a cellular level I'm really quite busy.

The game of Bridge is like Sex: You need either a good partner or a good hand.

You're either part of the solution or you're part of the precipitate.
weedeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2006, 10:26   #7
Charm
Veteran Member
 
Charm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Fuel Economy: 44
Default

thanks guys.
I hooked up the vagcom and it told me it could not communicate with the radio.

I looked at the fuse box, before reading these replies and did not see a picture that logicaly relayed to a radio, except for one that looks like a horn. How did you guys know what fuse it was? was it from a bentley manual? the owners definatly didnt have it.

Weedeater: you say the radio is recalled, I wouldnt mind getting a new one, but if it is the fuse there is no way around that. Under what rational are the radios recalled AND how do you guys find out this stuff. I dont think I have ever gotten a mailing for any recalls ever.
Charm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 04:27   #8
cage
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: lakewood, ohio
Default

Pull the radio and check the fuse on the back of the radio itself. Mine blew for some reason while the fuse box fuse was fine. I replaced the radio fuse on the radio and all is fine.
cage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 08:07   #9
Jeff_Duncan
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cape Cod Massachusetts
Default Ours too!

We had the same thing this AM in our 2002. The radio won't power up. Pulled the 42 fuse and left it out for about 30 sec and it didn't fix the issues. I searched for recalls on the radio and didn't find any.

Next is to pull the unit from the dash and check that - any tips on pulling it?
__________________
HIS: 2003 Jetta GLS TDI Bosch .205's
HERS: 2002 Jetta GLS TDI Bosch .205's (of course)
Jeff_Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 10:17   #10
weedeater
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reston, VA
Fuel Economy: 54/43/38
Default

YOu need the radio removal tools, 4 I believe on the double DIN radio. You can make them out of old credit cards or something similar.

The recall was reported here some years ago (02) and I believe there was a TSB for it. The radio would simply stop working. Removing/replacing the fuse on the back would cure it, but only for a while.
__________________
It may seem like I am doing nothing, but on a cellular level I'm really quite busy.

The game of Bridge is like Sex: You need either a good partner or a good hand.

You're either part of the solution or you're part of the precipitate.
weedeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 18:12   #11
Jeff_Duncan
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cape Cod Massachusetts
Default

Okay, so the #42 is definately NOT doing the trick. From what I read here some people say the dealer work is a warranty claim, and some people say it's a recall. There is obviously a big difference. I am going to try to search the forums again for the TSB but I havent had much luck - seems to be no info on the recall anywhere. Very frustrating.
__________________
HIS: 2003 Jetta GLS TDI Bosch .205's
HERS: 2002 Jetta GLS TDI Bosch .205's (of course)
Jeff_Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 20:36   #12
motorinar
Veteran Member
 
motorinar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Buford, Ga
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weedeater
YOu need the radio removal tools, 4 I believe on the double DIN radio. You can make them out of old credit cards or something similar.

The recall was reported here some years ago (02) and I believe there was a TSB for it. The radio would simply stop working. Removing/replacing the fuse on the back would cure it, but only for a while.
The fuse in the back of my radio it was keep on blowing, so instead of the 10 Amps I have put a 15 Amps one and it's been fine for a while.
__________________
2004 Jetta TDI Wagon, 2009 JSW TDI
motorinar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2006, 07:18   #13
Dave_D
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Default

Is this the stock radio? Is the red light between the "Power" button and the "1" button flashing? If not, go somewhere that installs radios and ask them to help you pull the radio so you can check the fuse in the back. Mine has blown twice in the three years I have owned the vehicle, but I have yet to determine what causes it to blow.
__________________
1999.5 (A4) Tornado Red Jetta GL TDI,5 speed,4 door, RC 2+, Old Navy CCV mod, ventectomy, CAT filter
Dave_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2006, 18:13   #14
Jeff_Duncan
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cape Cod Massachusetts
Default Fixed

I pulled the battery cable off for 10 minutes tonight and it finally reset the radio. Funny that so many people fixed it with the 37 and 42 fuses but it didn't even phase mine. Battery disconnect worked like a champ.

J
__________________
HIS: 2003 Jetta GLS TDI Bosch .205's
HERS: 2002 Jetta GLS TDI Bosch .205's (of course)
Jeff_Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 20:45   #15
scott_the_sock
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Fuel Economy: High 30's City - 53 HWY & now going up
Default

My '02 has done it twice. Blinking red light on radio with no response to buttons. It's as if it's off and won't come on. First time the dealer just pulled it, checked connections, and put it back in. It worked fine for a couple of months.

Then it did it again. I was going to take it in again and tell them I wanted a new radio (certified used with extended warranty), but a day or so later before I could, the entire car died as if the battery was dead. I hooked up jumper cables, and you'd think Fonzy had hit the jukebox. Dash indicators started flashing, dings went off, and the radio started playing. I haven't had any problems since, at least with the radio (knock on wood).

My only guess is hooking up the jumper cables electrocuted the gremlin playing with the wires.
__________________
2002 Silver Golf GLS TDI 5 Speed
scott_the_sock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16575 seconds with 9 queries
[Output: 120.40 Kb. compressed to 99.38 Kb. by saving 21.02 Kb. (17.46%)]