www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2013 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Old March 13th, 2006, 15:43   #1
ChadMC

Default How to drain fuel

I've been making biodiesel for quite a few months now. But this latest batch is running very bad. I need to drain the fuel from my 2001 vw golf tdi. I'm not sure how to do this and need some advice. I tried sticking a tube from a fuel pump I have down the nozzle hole where you fill up. It didn't suck anything out though.

So, what's the best way to get the fuel out of my car? Is there a drain on the bottom of the tank?
ChadMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2006, 15:47   #2
bheaston
Veteran Member

your basic siphoning technique should work as long as you don't mind a mouthful of b100.........but it's gotta be easier to stomach than the diesel of the crude variety anyway. If you're careful, you won't get a mouthful, just listen carefully.
Old March 13th, 2006, 16:30   #3
ChadMC

i got a hose as far as it will go down. I sucked about 5 gallons out of it. No more will come out. I may just have to burn the fuel. It's still driveable. It just has loss of power and fluctuates when you step on it hard.
Old March 13th, 2006, 18:05   #4
naturist
Veteran Member

If you flip up the back seat, you can peel up the carpet under it, and remove the fuel sender unit from the top of the tank. It is easy then to suck out the rest of the fuel through the fairly large hole the sender occupied. This is the way dealerships usually do it when people tow in a misfueled TDI.