www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old January 16th, 2006, 12:31   #1
CheesyRider

Default check engine light and dirty air filter

Hi! This is my first time ever posting on the TDI Club forum, so please forgive me if these questions have been asked before.

Okay, so here's the story:
Last week the check engine light on my 2002 Golf TDI went on. I called the dealer and was told to take the gas cap off, put it back on and drive the car for a few days to see if the check engine light would go off.

Well, two days later (with the check engine light still on), I took a short drive to the shopping mall (only about 3/4 mile, the temperature was 30 degrees). After spending about 2 hours at the mall, I tried to start the car. The engine would just turn over, but would not start. I wondered if the fuel filter could have been clogged, but I changed it myself just 3000 miles ago. I decided to leave the car there overnight and try the next day.

The next day (the temp was about 38 degrees) I tried to start the car again, but it still just turned over and wouldn't start, so I called a tow truck. Right before the tow truck arrived, I tried again, and the car started right up.