www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)

Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) The place of handling, lighting and other upgrades that do not relate to the performance or economy of the TDI engine. In other words upgrades to your TDI that don't fit into TDI Fuel Economy & TDI Engine Enhancements.Please note the Performance Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 27th, 2005, 16:36   #16
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

Bumping this thread... BECAUSE THE CLUSTER IS INSTALLED
First off, thanks to ele28 for the programming, and penclnck for his excellent cluster disassembly 'step by step'.
Swapping the faces was easy, and I think I have the needles aligned correctly. If not, I'll just crack the cluster again tomorrow.
First off, if you've had coolant migration and the harness was repaired, this is what will be behind your cluster:



Now, after the Passat's guts were transplanted into the TDI cluster:

Note that the idle is correct on the face, even though it's still listed as 880 RPM in vag-com The brake wear light is on because that feature is not installed on my car.

Now doing a TEST with the odometer adaptation:


And after coding it back to NA specs:


I'm gunna wait till the next G2G to wire up the switch because I'm not 100% comfortable taking the airbag / steering wheel out. (hmm, maybe we need an emergency G2G )
Just goes to show how insane us TDI people really are...
-Jason
__________________
Present:
2012 Passat SE TDI DSG. 60,000 miles. Factory Alarm, LED tails, Memory Seat, HIDs 38/48 MPG.
99.5 Jetta "GLX" TDI. 295,000 miles. Half way there!!! Power Memory Seats, HIDs 11mm pump, BV39 Turbo, RCIII 36/47 MPG.
1991 Mercedes 350SDL 230,000 miles, 70,000 on engine. 18/27 MPG.
Past:
1988 Audi 5000S Quattro, 1992 Jetta ECOdiesel, 1991 Jetta ECOdiesel.

Check out the official TDIClub Chat Room!
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRUSSELS BELGIAN View Post
Maybe I should pay MYSELF to do bad work on my car!

Last edited by compu_85; December 27th, 2005 at 16:39.
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 22:13   #17
tongsli
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default

to the
__________________
RC 3.1,DG pipes,Bosio PP764, Forge SMIC,R32 airbox,FSI/OilLevelSensor,150PDTIP&MAF&Intake Manifold, Bilstein TCs,TT brakes,A3 strut bar,ESP,Folding Mirrors,Aero wipers,Headlight Washers,PDC,Bora Trunk switch,VR6 muffler,4-motion valance, OEM Skid Plate &HIDs,Custom Tails, Zender Spoiler,WE Power,heated Seats,RNS2,MFSW,Anti-dazzle mirror,FIS,IRU,DWA,2nd OBDII,OEM Auto Window,P3 vent gauge, Webasto Thermotop C heater
tongsli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 22:21   #18
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

Update on the ASR led (kinda x posted from the other thread)

US 99.5 Clusters do have the asr warning light installed. The light is turned off by ground. But, the wire connected to this pin is hard wired to a ground, not to the ABS pump. Connecting the pin to the correct pin on the pump makes the light function properly.

The Passat cluster seemes to be backwards... The light was turned on by ground, and now that it is connected properly (tested with the old cluster) the light is always off... except when the car is started cold, the light illuminates very dim briefly.

I'm gunna talk with ele28 to see if this can be fixed. I have yet to install the stalk... maybee I could wire up a temp button to cycle the functions? You connect the pins to ground to signal the switch, right Lito?

-J
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 22:44   #19
tongsli
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default

I don't know. I just connected it to the stalk. You'll have to look at the wiring diagrams but that may not tell you if the wires are + and -

Just install the stalk!
__________________
RC 3.1,DG pipes,Bosio PP764, Forge SMIC,R32 airbox,FSI/OilLevelSensor,150PDTIP&MAF&Intake Manifold, Bilstein TCs,TT brakes,A3 strut bar,ESP,Folding Mirrors,Aero wipers,Headlight Washers,PDC,Bora Trunk switch,VR6 muffler,4-motion valance, OEM Skid Plate &HIDs,Custom Tails, Zender Spoiler,WE Power,heated Seats,RNS2,MFSW,Anti-dazzle mirror,FIS,IRU,DWA,2nd OBDII,OEM Auto Window,P3 vent gauge, Webasto Thermotop C heater
tongsli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 22:48   #20
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

But that means I have to pull the steering wheel... and the airbag... and I'm really not comfortable doing that unsupervised.

Well... how hard is it? You need some special bit for the bolt that holds the steering wheel on, right?

-J
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 23:30   #21
tongsli
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default

Yes, you'll need a large Torx drive for the steering wheel. I think Metalnerd sells them. Check his site for the bit.

Just disconnect the battery when you take the airbag off. I think I have pictures (in my folder on the picture server) of the steering wheel and how you need to insert a short screw driver into the access hole.

When you re-install everything, just make sure the key is in the ignition and turned one click before you connect the ground strap of the battery.

That's all.
__________________
RC 3.1,DG pipes,Bosio PP764, Forge SMIC,R32 airbox,FSI/OilLevelSensor,150PDTIP&MAF&Intake Manifold, Bilstein TCs,TT brakes,A3 strut bar,ESP,Folding Mirrors,Aero wipers,Headlight Washers,PDC,Bora Trunk switch,VR6 muffler,4-motion valance, OEM Skid Plate &HIDs,Custom Tails, Zender Spoiler,WE Power,heated Seats,RNS2,MFSW,Anti-dazzle mirror,FIS,IRU,DWA,2nd OBDII,OEM Auto Window,P3 vent gauge, Webasto Thermotop C heater
tongsli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2006, 22:51   #22
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

OK. Got this installed today... finally. My steering wheel seems to have modling problems... getting the airbag off is a major pain.

On top of that, the MFA does not work properly. Instant MPGs always reports 5, not matter what. Avg MPGs reports 15.x after resetting, then after a moment drops quickly to 3.6.

Also, the speedometer disagrees with the MPH display... 10mph speedo = 10mph MFA. 35MPH speedo = 33 MFA 60MPH speedo = 54MFA. 80 speedo = 70 MFA. 2000 RPM should be 58 MPH, right? That's what shows in the speedo, but the MFA reads 54mph. I'm gunna do some more checking with vag-com to see how off that is... Probably monday.

Hopefully ele28 can resolve this software issue.... or perhaps some euro software in my ECU would help

-Jason
__________________
Present:
2012 Passat SE TDI DSG. 60,000 miles. Factory Alarm, LED tails, Memory Seat, HIDs 38/48 MPG.
99.5 Jetta "GLX" TDI. 295,000 miles. Half way there!!! Power Memory Seats, HIDs 11mm pump, BV39 Turbo, RCIII 36/47 MPG.
1991 Mercedes 350SDL 230,000 miles, 70,000 on engine. 18/27 MPG.
Past:
1988 Audi 5000S Quattro, 1992 Jetta ECOdiesel, 1991 Jetta ECOdiesel.

Check out the official TDIClub Chat Room!
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRUSSELS BELGIAN View Post
Maybe I should pay MYSELF to do bad work on my car!
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2006, 15:28   #23
kostyas
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Woodbridge, ON, Canada
TDI(s): Golf 99.5
Default

MPG.... Maybe it's reporting ltr/100km? 3.6 is pretty impressive though... 5 is already low enough.
__________________
Do not buy from E$$o! (A.K.A Exxon, Mobil, Imperial Oil) www.exxonsecrets.org
kostyas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2006, 16:18   #24
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

No.. it's not working properly... the instant mpgs is ALWAYS 5. Stopped, going along the road, WOT, whatever.
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 18:08   #25
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

Grounded the temp sensor better fixed that issue. But I've noticed another one:

When you do an output test, after the needles sweep, shouldn't the speedo come back to 100 KPH? And the Tach to 3k RPMs?

Also, I tried without success to code it for the fixed interval. The digit for that function in the later clusters serves as the number of cylinders... it only takes 4 or 6. BUT, if I hold in the trip reset button while turning on the ignition on, service comes up in the odometer, and by pressing it again, the display cycles between insp and oil! Clicking the clock knob turns the display to dashes... doesn't seem to work (probably because it's not coded properly, eh!)

-Jason
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 18:48   #26
MOGolf
Veteran Member
 
MOGolf's Avatar
Default

What is the coding you've set? 07240?

Service intervals:
on this cluster isn't it channel 10 for distance in steps of 1000 km for oil service, channel 11 for inspection in steps of 1000 km, and channel 12 for inspection in steps of 10 days? (typically set to 00015, 00030, and 00037 respectively)
MOGolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 19:28   #27
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

My codeing is 06242 (99.5's don't have brake pad wear sensors)

I'll check those channels...

-J
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 19:37   #28
MOGolf
Veteran Member
 
MOGolf's Avatar
Default

That vintage Passat cluster rightmost digit had 2 = gas, 0 = diesel.
MOGolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 19:45   #29
compu_85
Gadget Guy
 
compu_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Springfield VA
Fuel Economy: 56.3/44/41
Default

Oh hmm..... Interesting. Howard Cooper must have coded my previous cluster wrong when they replaced it, because that's what I borrowed the code from.

-J
compu_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 19:57   #30
MOGolf
Veteran Member
 
MOGolf's Avatar
Default

Golf/Jetta/Bora used that position for distance impulse.
MOGolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.15543 seconds with 9 queries
[Output: 130.72 Kb. compressed to 109.42 Kb. by saving 21.30 Kb. (16.29%)]