Possible TDI Purchase

Cobrargc

TDI
2013 Jetta
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum and seriously considering the purchase of a Jetta TDI or Passat TDI. I’ve owned Ford Powerstroke diesels, so I have some knowledge of the diesel world, including the 40-50 cent more per gallon that diesel cost locally. I love the torque and fuel economy of a diesel, but I’m not sure if I want to get back in. I’ve always been a staunch American car buyer and this would be my 1st purchase of an import. I rode in and drove several VW diesel products while on a business trip 10 years ago in Germany. It seems like a large portion of the German car/truck market has been diesel powered in Europe for many years and they really have the diesel engines down to a science. I have a few questions though.
  • I’ve been looking the forum over for a while and noticed the older TDI’s tend to get the better mileage. Is this due to the ongoing emissions on the newer cars? If so, what a shame!
  • Locally the price of diesel is about 12-15% higher than gasoline. Would the additional fuel expense nearly offset the better fuel mileage of a diesel?
  • How is winter starting? It will be garaged at home, but parked outside at work.
  • What is maintenance like? I’ve turned my own wrench for years and do so for part of my living. I’ve heard that VW designs their cars to be unfriendly to the do-it-yourselfer.
  • Automatic or manual equipped? Does the better mileage go to the manual?
  • The Passat’s are assembled in the states and the Jetta’s in Mexico?
  • Which is a better car? My wife and I are empty nesters with a grandchild in a car seat from time to time. The Passat appears bigger than the Jetta, but gets a tad better mileage??