Code 18057 WITH Code 16764?

JDSnead

TDI
2000 New Beetle 5-speed, 2001 New Beetle automatic, 2011 JSW DSG, 2013 Beetle TDI DSG, 2014 Beetle TDI DSG, 2015 Passat TDI 6-speed manual
I'm a newbie, so bear with me.

I searched for and read all the threads about the Glow Plug DTC (16764). It seems that a new GP harness helped most to clear this up.

My '00 A4 5-speed shows both the 16764 and 18057. The 18057 complete message is: p1649 035 Data Bus Powertrain missing message from Break ECU.

Anyone seen this combination of codes? I'm going to try a new GP harness first, then see what happens. I would appreciate any pointers anyone has.

BTW: this is one GREAT forum/site! I have two A4 TDIs, a 2000 and 2001. I can't see driving anything else in today's world.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Jerry

MOGolf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Golf GLS TDI Reflex silver, rough road suspension and steel skid plate, 2004 Passat Variant, Candy White, rough road suspension and geared balanced shaft module, and much, much more. 2016 LR RR HSE TD6, 2019 Jaguar I-PACE
First test the GPs before replacing the harness. We just had a car at a GTG in MI with this code. 1 GP was DOA, the others tested fine.

And another driver in OH had this code a couple of weeks back. I found the GP harness did not appear to be fully seated on one of the plugs. Latest report is that the code has not come back.

As for the brake communications failure...
Have you had any brake work done lately? Anybody messing with the connector to the brake controller?

[ February 08, 2003, 20:20: Message edited by: MOGolf ]

Wingnut

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta Wagon