A safe buy? Which MY to get...?

35mphgolf

TDI
2013 Golf R
So I searched and couldn't find anything, but I'm looking to get a MKIV TDI - not to start a firestorm, but is there a general consensus on which model year(s) is best?

I'm currently looking at a 2005 Golf TDI 5sp, and I wasn't sure if there were any mechanical nuances I should look out for... is 2005 a safe year or is 2003 going to be a better year - etc..? Its got fairly low miles... 80,000 I believe.

Thanks for the help!

35mphgolf

TDI
2013 Golf R
So after reading a wiki - the 2004-05s were the PD engine, where they received direct injection. Does this mean these cars have carbon build up issues?

Golf GLS TDI

TDI
2000 Golf GLS Tdi
I am kinda new to the game also, but back when I was lookingto buy a TDI, my friends who own TDI's steered me towards the ALH, 99.5-03 manual shift only. Now I own 2.

35mphgolf

TDI
2013 Golf R
Nice. So after more reading (google was great), I see that the ALH engine is more reliable, but is it really THAT much more reliable? I cant imagine that big of a difference between the ALH and PD engines. Any fuel efficiency differences between them? I'd imagine the PD gets the advantage with direct injection...

trailhead

Veteran Member
TDI
05sPD-BEWagon "Diesel Girl"
I'm no expert,

I choose PD over ALH. More powerful, less vibration. They're both very reliable but, the PD's have some more expensive parts, if they fail. IMO, they better performance is worth the higher maintenance costs.

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta
35, they're all direct injection. The cars from 2004 thru 2006 utilize a different injection system that is now discontinued. They might have cam wear issues but it's not a crazy expense to repair if encountered. The auto trans in these car is also superior.

Avoid any automatic car from 1998 - 2003.