Zip tie mod how to?

Mozambiquer

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
2004 VW Touareg V10 TDI, 2012 Audi Q7 V6 TDI, 1998 VW Jetta TDI. 1982 VW Rabbit pickup, 2001 VW Jetta TDI, 2005 VW Passat wagon TDI X3, 2001 VW golf TDI, 1980 VW rabbit pickup,
I've been trying to find a how-to on the zip tie mod, I guess there used to be one on myturbodiesel, but it appears to be gone. I've used the search function both here and with regular old Google and I find a lot of people talking about it, but no how-to. My main question is how much vacuum to use. I kinda get the jist of the rest of how it works and all.

Sent from my KYOCERA-E6790 using Tapatalk

dae06

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta 2005.5 1.9
I've been using this mod for 4-5 years now. Every once in a while the zip tie breaks and I need to redo it.

Good luck, it's really not too tough once you do it.

Mozambiquer

TDI
2004 VW Touareg V10 TDI, 2012 Audi Q7 V6 TDI, 1998 VW Jetta TDI. 1982 VW Rabbit pickup, 2001 VW Jetta TDI, 2005 VW Passat wagon TDI X3, 2001 VW golf TDI, 1980 VW rabbit pickup,
I've been using this mod for 4-5 years now. Every once in a while the zip tie breaks and I need to redo it.

Good luck, it's really not too tough once you do it.
How much vacuum did you apply before installing the zip tie?

Sent from my KYOCERA-E6790 using Tapatalk

dae06

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta 2005.5 1.9
It was a trial and error process. When I finally got it tuned in, I ended up using 11" (I believe) zip ties and used 3 clicks on the zip tie.

For some reason I don't recall needing the vacuum pump (its been a while since I did this), I think the actuator is up until vacuum is applied and then lowers and this is when the zip tie limits the actuator from going too far.