I'm looking for a HX Civic, but just got offered a TDI wagon...help comparing?

Figit090

Veteran Member
TDI
Lifted Unicorn! '03 Jetta GLS TDI Wagon, 5spd, Candy White, Black leather.
Basically I am looking for a 5spd 1996-2000 Honda civic HX, but someone with a nice (in a single picture) 2003 TDI wagon asked if I would be interested. I am.

However, my $3500 budget set aside for a Honda would have to stretch a bit, *edit* his asking price is falling, and now down to $7500. It's a deep blue 5spd. Has 150k mikes currently. Had a supposed belt and h2o pump done around 100k miles. Not sure about receipts. States he hasn't had it long, I'm still insure why he's selling.

My question is, what's the expected investment like, long term, for this car? OK mechanically inclined but I'm a newb to VW TDI. I read PLENTY of reviews saying electrical issues and wheel bearing replacements are a regular thing, among other common "stop your journey and fix this thing" issues. I also read that you have to pick mechanics carefully or do things yourself so I'm weary of taking on a car that will beg for attention with annoying issues, while Hondas just work. I can do my own work like cleaning EGR tubes, but I don't want a nagging hobby for a car. My last car did the gremlin BS, and I hated when things like my dome light would die for no reason, or my car alarm would blare at 3am, unprovoked. I have better things to mess with and engineering mistakes bother me (why should I fix VW's mistakes basically). I need my car to work properly.

Also I rode in my friend's beetle of the same era and the plastics were horrid, the finish wearing off and everything electric broke... Making me lean toward the fear that the bad reviews about reliability and nuisance, expensive repairs would make my investment pointless... Especially when $4000-$4500 more for the VW will buy a LOT of gas if I were to get the Honda.