2009 Jetta Sportwagon TDI, P0087, Fuel rail/system pressure too low

cumminsfromthecold

Veteran Member
TDI
'84 Toyota 1Z 4WD x-cab, '13 Jetta Wagon
2009 Jetta Sportwagon TDI is reading P0087 after 30,000 miles on straight biodiesel.

What's going on?

I've got my ideas, but I'm no expert on cars this new.

cumminsfromthecold

Veteran Member
TDI
Re. P0087, Fuel rail/system pressure too low, '09 Jetta TDI Sportwagon

"Low fuel rail pressure?"

Yes.

"hpfp check.
hpfp sensor check."

Here, you lost me. I'm guessing High Pressure Fuel Pump? Is this the injector pump?

HPFP sensor check probably in order - where is it?

"Check for metal specs in fuel filter and screen."

Thanks, good idea.

JSWTDI09

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 JSW TDI (gone but not forgotten)
Are you still under warranty? If so, DO NOT tell the dealer you have been running straight Biodiesel. I assume that you are aware that VW recommends no more than 5% BioDiesel in a 2009+ TDI. If you are lucky, it is not an HPFP failure (it is still running?), but it could be a pressure sensor or pressure valve failing. Do as stated above and open up the fuel filter and look for little pieces of metal (this could indicate an HPFP failure).

Good Luck

Don

JSWTDI09

Top Post Dawg
TDI
"Low fuel rail pressure?"

Here, you lost me. I'm guessing High Pressure Fuel Pump? Is this the injector pump?

HPFP sensor check probably in order - where is it?

"Check for metal specs in fuel filter and screen."

Thanks, good idea.