Should the IQ numbers be close?

nitrocharger

TDI
14 Q7
Started having some power issues today then later got a P0251 code. Hooked up VAG Com and read;
IQ Cyl 1: .40 mg/str
IQ Cyl 2: .75 mg/str
IQ Cyl 3: -1.79 mg/str
IQ Cyl 4: .61 mg/str

Injection system has 310k, I rebuilt entire engine 90k ago but I have no experience with the fuel system. Is my problem in the injector or in the pump, or is there not enough info to know for sure. Any advice is appreciated.

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
Tonight, I just buttoned up a TB Job on my ol' 2000 Jetta, 369k miles. While fine tuning the timing using VCDS, I observed the various engine functions. The IQ varied similar to yours.

I have no desire to mess with anything as those numbers are all within spec. The engine runs just fine. In fact, for the miles and being practically all OE, it is probably the cleanest engine (top to bottom) as in, virtually zero oil leaks, starts great, runs great, and still knocking out 50+ MPGs from tank to tank!

Sure, you can pull the injectors and have them balanced and those numbers will be a bit closer if not almost the same! Is it worth it, maybe and maybe not, in my opinion.

Nevada_TDI

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Jetta TDI
Most people would have had the injectors checked or rebuilt over 100k miles ago. I would get some .205 nozzles, get them professionally assembled and tested and call it good. If at some point you would like to get a bit more power out of your engine the .205 nozzles will work fine up to Stage3.

Last edited:

miningman

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Golf