2006 Jetta TDI Fan Control Unit location?

TDIguy02

TDI
2002 Jetta TDI
Can't find it anywhere. Looked under battery tray, just mechanical components. Any help, also I bought this FCU. Is this the right one? Thanks a million

joeschoonover74

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
2000 Jetta TDI
The 2006 does not have this module. The cooling fan module is located on the large cooling fan. May I ask what problem your having?

TDIguy02

TDI
2002 Jetta TDI
Blows cold only intermittently. Replaced both fans. Both are working. With key forward. Drivers side fan runs with AC on. When it works. It works great. When it doesn't. Not at all.

joeschoonover74

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
2000 Jetta TDI
Sounds like your compressor is failing. The newer compressors have no clutch they use a valve that varies the output of the compressor based on what the a/c control head, ECM, and ambient temp sensor asks for. I know it sounds weird because when it does work it works great. I was a dealership tech for 12 years and recently opened my own shop. At the dealer I replaced 3 or 4 compressors a week due to the problem your describing. That being said I would get it diagnosed properly before throwing down the money for a new compressor. Need to look at all vent temps, fan activations, pressure sensor and such with a scan tool

jcrews

Top Post Dawg
TDI
All gone
You can get a new RCV without tossing the whole compressor. The most common complaint [corrected by replacing the RCV] is a delay between switching the A/C on and any noticeable cooling.

opie1988

TDI
2005.5 Jetta TDI
http://www.polarbearinc.com/Webstore/index.cfm?fuseaction=category.display&category_ID=953