Opinion wanted on ‘03 Jetta w/ 240k

leegravel

TDI
2003 Jetta Wagon, 50.5 mpg
Looking for opinions - I know you all have them :p

Thinking about buying an 03 Jetta wagon with 240k. New clutch, transmission,glow plugs, shocks, struts, cleaned intake and more. The vehicle has had one owner and been very well maintained with supporting documentation. I checked and the TB was done twice at each 100k interval. Drives really nice.

Here’s my concern. The car books for $4k and he’s asking for $5k. I got him down to 4500, but still seems high for the mileage, but I understand why he’s asking the price he is.

My main concern is engine power. It didn’t seems as peppy as the 05 golf TDI I had a few years ago and I’m wondering if it’s a compression issue. Then again, I’ve been driving nothing but 6 cylinders for a couple of years now.

Thoughts?

-Lee

red16vdub

Veteran Member
TDI
03 JSW 5spd
$4500. Is very good price for an 2003 Alh tdi wagon. The 05 pd tdi has 10 more hp so there is a difference, but at 240k an Alh tdi shouldn’t have any compression issues at all, you said yourself the car was very maintained.

Bajan

IndigoBlueWagon

TDIClub Enthusiast, Principal IDParts, Vendor , w/
TDI
'97 Passat, '99.5 Golf, '02 Jetta Wagon, '15 GSW
Even though the ALH has less total power, it should drive very similarly to your BEW. Is the turbo origoinal? If so I'd suspect the actuator is tired or it has a vacuum leak. Neither are major repairs. If you have access to VCDS you could run a boost log and find out for sure.

I agree that $4,500 is a good deal for an ALH Wagon if it's cosmetically clean. Any rust? Check the lower corners of the rear window, bottoms of the front fenders, and the rocker panels at the jack points. If all look good and the interior is clean (including the headliner clean and intact) I'd pay that for a good ALH. Mileage isn't a big concern if the car's been cared form.

leegravel

TDI