Looking to buy mid 80's to early 90's diesel jetta and I have a few questions.

1977busman

Veteran Member
TDI
I have a 1977 vw bus and a 1982 vw diesel caddy
I am about 6 months away from gettong my permit, and I decided its time to get serious about what im going to drive. I have decided that my rabbit pickup diesel is not going to work, because I know that I am going to be transporting my sisters all over the place. So I decided that the jetta would be my best bet. I have been looking at 85-92 jettas, but im not really sure what I want. I need to know which are turbo and which are not. From what I have seen the 90-92's dont have turbos, and the 85-89's sometimes do. I am just wondering what to look for. Also are there any problem areas to look for while searching. I have found a few jettas already, but I am not experienced with these at all and dont know what to look for. Any help would be appreciated

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
As sold in the USA, the A2 cars were available as such:

Golf 1985 and 1986, 1.6L non-turbo ME

Jetta 1985 and 1985, 1.6L non-turbo ME AND 1.6L turbo MF

(hydraulic lifters came mid 1986 on both engines).

None for 1987 and 1988, although some 1987s were imported supposedly...I have never seen one.

1989, Jetta returns, non-turbo ME engine only, with some upgraded bits.
1990 through early 1991, Jetta non-turbo, both 2 and 4 door versions.

Mid-1991 and early 1992, 1.6L light-pressure turbo 'ECOdiesel' Jetta 4 door only, code 1V. These are very rare.

ME = 52hp
MF = 68hp
1V = 59hp

compu_85

Gadget Guy
TDI
... None :S
An NA car is kind of slow by modern standards. The Turbo models have good performance with today's speeds.

-Jason

1977busman

Veteran Member
TDI
so there is a mix of 1985 jettas some with turbo and some without? I am looking at an 1985 and 2 1990's, is there much of a of a difference in the two years, unless the 85 is a turbo (which is unknown at this point)??