No turbo boost on 2000 Jetta TDI

TDI
2000 VW Jetta
Hey, I'm a newbie mechanic, and don't have a whole lot of experience under my belt in this field, and I need some help with diagnosing a major problem I've been having with my old jetta.

About a month ago, I started experiencing problems with the turbo, where at times it didn't seem to activate at all, or was inhibiting the engine's performance. It didn't happen often, but when starting from a dead stop, the engine felt like it was in limp mode, except that you could still accelerate in it, it just took a lot of time. Additionally, unplugging the MAF sensor would fix the problem.

After doing a bit of reading on here, combined with taking it in to have the check engine lights examined, I determined that the MAF sensor had gone bad, and after a while waiting for it to come in, managed to get a replacement installed. The problem wasn't fixed, however, only mitigated. The engine wouldn't feel as sluggish with the MAF sensor plugged in as it did before, but the car still performs better with the sensor unplugged.

Taking it in to the auto store, I got it's engine codes scanned again, and it produced these codes.

P1562: Quantity Adjuster Upper Stop Value
P0380: Glow Plug Heater Circuit "A"
P1144: Mass Air Flow Sensor Open/Short To Ground
P1556: Charge Pressure Negative Deviation

My gut is saying that some of this has to do with the MAF sensor in some way, because performance still decreases a bit when it's plugged in, and there have been reports of it causing problems with boosting, but I don't know for certain, and I haven't been doing this sort of repair work for more then a few months.

Any help people can provide would be greatly appreciated, telling me whether you think it's the MAF sensor and the electrical, or if the problem is actually in the turbo. If you guys have any questions about the car's performance, I'll do my best to answer them. Thank you!

eddieleephd

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2002 jetta Wagon