my first B100 fillup

lupin..the..3rd

Veteran Member
TDI
Passat B4 1996
Ok, so I'm a real newbie when it comes to Biodiesel. I have a 96 Passat TDI with 84k miles.

I just filled up with my first tank of B100 biodiesel. I filled up at the Shell station at the corner of rt 26 and rt 27 in maryland. It was $2.79/gal. I had about 6 gallons of regular diesel already in there, and pumped about 14 gallons of B100 on top of that. I guess that makes it about a B70 blend.

I've replaced the injector return lines with viton tubing. Is there any other rubber seals, gaskets, hoses, etc. that I should be replacing if I plan to run straight B100 from now on? I would really like to start running B100 all the time, but am concerned I will have problems with rubber bits going bad...

Is it just me, or does the engine run a bit smoother now??? Maybe it's just me....

Also, I use the 2 micron cat fuel filter. Is this a problem when running B100??

Lastly, my car has about 84k miles and this is it's first exposure to Biodiesel. I know biodiesel is a good solvent, and it will clean out all kinds of gunk in the tank, lines, etc. which will get caught in the fuel filter. How long should I go before I replace the fuel filter? I'm guessing it's a lot sooner than the 15k or 20k usual interval.

Thanks for helping a newbie!! Sorry if this has already been covered.

mobe

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf
Congrats on the B100 conversion! /images/graemlins/grin.gif
You're lucky to have a pump, at a Shell station no less.

About your fuel lines/seals and such, they should be Biodiesel compatable, in a 1996 or later VW.

I would keep a fuel filter in the car along with tools to change it out, as well as some BioD or fuel additive to prime it.
From what I've read on the BiodieselNow forums this problem is a bit overblown but I suppose it mostly depends on the quality of fuel that your car was getting previously.

B100 makes my car pure like a kitten. /images/graemlins/grin.gif Nice and quiet.