Cam shaft locking pin?

1945GPW

TDI
2005 Jetta 2015 Golf
Anyone know where I can get a cam shaft locking pin for the 2015 Golf tdi? I've been googling it and cant seem to find one for the 2015. Thanks!!

marcusku

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf Sportwagen, 15', red
Anyone know where I can get a cam shaft locking pin for the 2015 Golf tdi? I've been googling it and cant seem to find one for the 2015. Thanks!!
It looks like there are two locking pins necessary for doing work on the camshaft or the timing belt:

1. Diesel Injection Pump Locking Pin - 3359: This one appears to be for locking the timing belt camshaft sprocket. I think it's the same pin used on the ALH for locking the injector pump. You can find this one on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/3359-Diesel-Engine-Timing-Repair/dp/B00VDVS7EQ

2. Locking Pin - T10492: Looks like this one is for locking the second camshaft to the cylinder head. Appears that Snapon sells this tool: https://vw.snapon.com/SpecialToolsD...gine, Fuel &Cat_ID=1030&Cat_Name=Engine, Fuel

I have the shop manual in PDF form. Let me know if you need any pages. I'm a little confused why the first pin is needed, maybe that's just so you know it's TDC?

Last edited:

1945GPW

TDI
2005 Jetta 2015 Golf
The Cam locking pin is so I can replace that oil timing control valve. In the video he said its necessary to lock the cam shaft to take that valve out so I assume its just to hold the cam shaft while you break tq on the valve.

The pin I'm looking for goes through the Valve cover and locks the cam shaft, do you know which one does that?

Does your manual show the torque range for the valve and housing? If so that would be great if I could get that from you. Thanks!!

Last edited:

Ol'Rattler

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2006 BRM Jetta
The Cam locking pin is so I can replace that oil timing control valve. In the video he said its necessary to lock the cam shaft to take that valve out so I assume its just to hold the cam shaft while you break tq on the valve.