TDI into a '93 Eurovan

twentyeight

Veteran Member
TDI
1Z & ALH
The swap has finally started with the arrival of rebuild parts. I'll be updating as work gets done at my website where I might have a little more room to catalog the different tasks as they go.

Feel free to critique here— I want to rely on this build for travelling with my family. This isn't my first engine build, but I'm far from an expert, so tips and advice are very much appreciated.

twentyeight

Veteran Member
TDI
1Z & ALH
My piston protrusion is too low at 0.76mm (minimum spec is 0.91mm), so it looks like i'm going to pull out the crank again and have the block decked a bit. There's a small scratch between cylinders 2 and 3, so it's probably worthwhile anyway. At least no rods are bent.

I've seen a few threads where this is common— it really seems that new oversized Nüral pistons are made shorter specifically to account for decking the block. Everyone ends up with about 0.030" of piston projection or protrusion.

I have to take the flywheel back to the machine shop anyway because they didn't machine the step to match the wear surface, so the step height is around .585" where spec is something like 0.492-ish (12.5mm). That should be a fun conversation.

Last edited:

twentyeight

Veteran Member
TDI
1Z & ALH
Well, this is going to be on hold for a short while.

The machine shop destroyed my block and refuses to offer anything more than free machine work. I've tried their paid work; I'm not sure if I'd like their free work. Edit: they refunded some money but it was still a raw deal.

So I need to find another block and another shop.

I have an old 1Z block in my shed. I wonder if boring .5mm over would clean this up?
Scored and rusty bore #1
Scored and rusty bore #2

(For the record, the bores were fine but the deck was still a little pitted at 3-hole height)

Last edited:

twentyeight

Veteran Member
TDI
1Z & ALH