Front control arms worn out

calimustang

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 JSW DSG (buyback, RIP), 2014 JSW TDI, 2015 Passat TDI, 2013 Jetta TDI.
Hello,

I have HD Bilstein shocks and would like recommendations for good control arms replacement? I would like to get poly bushings with better control arms. I am fairly new with TDI world. Everyday is a learning experience for me.

Now she have nearly 254k miles.

travis45

Veteran Member
TDI
14 Sportwagen, 96 Passat TDI Sedan
TDI Club member MIVWTDI had some like the ECS ones for sale. Not sure if they sold or not. Either way, friendly fellow who sold me a few parts. I'm sure he'd be happy to tell you what he had and his experience.

vr6chris

TDI
'10 JSW S 2.5L 6mt
The control arms themselves shouldn't ever wear out unless they rust to pieces. The bushings, however, do wear out and the front bushings have a tendency to squeak over bumps when cold.

Those aluminum control arms look to be early Passat B6 arms. You should be able to buy them used for ~$100 a pair and then put in whatever bushings you want. The rear mounts on the Passat are slightly different, so you need to stick with Golf/Jetta rear mounts.

I put the aluminum arms on my car with new OEM front bushings. I also used the Passat aluminum bearing housings. They're about 3lb lighter than the G/J ones. Overall I'm happy with the results.

yrktreg

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Treg TDi Exec, 2010 JSW TDi DSG
The control arms themselves shouldn't ever wear out unless they rust to pieces. The bushings, however, do wear out and the front bushings have a tendency to squeak over bumps when cold.

Those aluminum control arms look to be early Passat B6 arms. You should be able to buy them used for ~$100 a pair and then put in whatever bushings you want. The rear mounts on the Passat are slightly different, so you need to stick with Golf/Jetta rear mounts.