ALH Samurai

tanner

Veteran Member
TDI
2005.5 BRM 5-Speed, 2013 Golf TDI 6-Speed, 2011 Golf TDI 6-Speed
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/suzuki/2400905-alh-samurai-slow-build.html

Hi, my names Tanner and I can't believe that I put a thumbs down on my post, but here’s the start of an ALH Samurai/Toyota hybrid.

I'm a complete newbie to building btw.

This first post will be a general intro into the build. I will reserve 2nd and 3rd post for progress.

I’ve had the 1987 Samurai for over a year and it ran great when I first got it then it had a distributor go bad. I replaced distributor, rotor, distributor cap, sparkplugs, wires, ignition coil, and I put an MSD 6AL-2 on it. Ran great, then a hose came off the radiator and I wasn’t paying enough attention going down the road and boom, I blew my head gasket. I have the head gasket and will fix the engine before selling the engine and rest of the drivetrain.

I bought a 2000 Jetta TDi with papers of a rebuilt engine 45k miles ago, the clutch has started to fail with the previous owner, and he thought that was what was wrong with the car, claiming it wouldn’t start without a new clutch. I traced down the problem to either bad wire on the harness or bad ECU/ECM. I replaced the ECM with an immobilizer-deleted unit. After new ECU the car started right up and I drove it around. Sold transmission and that’s the start of the project.

I bought a 1985 Toyota Pickup 4x4 22re on my 25th birthday, the truck body has 220k miles, but I have no idea about the engine. I have driven the truck around and it runs well. I plan on keeping the truck in running order till the engine sells as I imagine any buyer would like to hear the engine, crank, idle, and run for confidence in buying.

Samurai:

Jetta:

Update: Sunday, October 30th 2016, also my birthday I picked up a 1985 Straight Axle 22re
Toyota:

Last edited:

tanner

Veteran Member
TDI
reserved #2