Needing advice-performance upgrades

TDI
1998 Jetta 1.9l TDI
I'm just getting into diesels and turbos and such my first project is a 1998 jetta 1.9l ahu tdi with the 5 speed manual obviously. From what iv read up on it and checked to be sure so far it's bone stock. All of gotten done right yet is an get delete and I cleaned my intake because of it being so caked with smut. My next few steps before I take it to get a temp tune done and have it put on a dyno is I want to upgrade my nozzles ,injection pump, map sensor, turbo and exhaust.
Where can I find my stock nozzle size and injection pump size and what are my best upgrade options?
Also I was looking to change my exhaust from my turndow all the way back to 3in. And I have a Garrett AR50 that was given to me I was wondering can it be put on my car to replace my 3k turbo?

Demo3

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 TDI Golf Sportwagen
I would advise getting the Ross-Tech VCDS HEX-V2 enthusiast model. With 3 ven numbers it is only $200.

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Start with a better engine. I am not a fan of lots of power mods to the AHU. The ALH is better to start with. And I would argue it is also bolted into a better car, but if you happen to have stumbled across a really nice A3 Jetta, good for you. I'd still leave it mostly stock, though.

And why would you want a 3 inch exhaust on a 1.9L engine??? LMAO...

TDI
1998 Jetta 1.9l TDI
The engine stays point blank...im working with what I have. As for the exhaust that's just what a guy at work said would give it better sound and wouldn't hurt it any in case you have trouble reading I'll say again this is my first project I'm here for advice not to be ridiculed. I want a deeper tone than the stock 2in provides if 3 is over doing it than by all means give me pointers of what would get a deeper tone and help it as far as size goes but if you just want to get your laughs at my questions GTFO

TDI
1998 Jetta 1.9l TDI