Hard Cold Start ALH

NorthLights

TDI
02 Golf, Hooked
Hey everyone,

So I am new to the TDI scene, having just bought a 02 4 Door Golf with the 5 speed just 2 months ago. I have been working on bringing it up to a reliable DD. It has 155,000 miles on it and has spent all of its life in Alaska (Fairbanks). Since buying I have: replaced E-brake cables and put erosion protection on the housing where the brackets are (reason for previous failures), replaced engine oil twice with Mobil 1, replaced the transmission fluid, removed battery heater pad, cleaned oil from intercooler, inspected intake manifold (desperate need of cleaning, looking for spare to clean and make install faster), new battery (old one would drop to less than 10 v when starting cold), replaced dog bone mount, increased glow plug timer a little bit, checked injection timing (right at the middle line), new air filter, cleaned snow screen, checked glow plug resistance on all plugs and all are within factory spec and not off by more than 10% from each other, and that may be it.

So the issue. When the engine is cold it doesn't like to start or won't. With the new battery the engine spins over awesome and will cough (sometimes fire but most not enough to get it to run). If I plug in the frostheater and factory oil pan heater for at least 5 hrs it will start right up, 3-4 hrs it will start after cranking for 10 sec or more and really have a rough time running. I have to hold the throttle to keep the rpm around 1000 rpm and around 20-40 sec later it will idle smoothly and without the throttle.

So being big into trying to figure stuff out, I plugged in the car and kept checking on it while it's warming up and the only noticeable difference between 3.5 to 5 hrs is the IP will be warm after sitting for 5 hrs. Even at -10 F temps the engine will be at 135 degrees being plugged in for 3 hrs but the IP pump will still be cold to touch. But after waiting another 1.5 hrs the IP pump will be warmer to touch.