HPFP on 2013 Passat

Rxh007

TDI
2013 Passat TDI
2013 Passat with 52,000 miles. Stalled on the road after a week from recent fueling of known diesel. Friend who worked for VW pulled you code said it was p0087. He reset it and tried to get it into limp mode to get it home and it wouldn’t start. Towed to local guy who called me and said take it to VW, metal shavings in the fuel. VW called me and said they did a VAS test and it failed (unhappy face). This makes the warranty voided. Called corporate and they returned my call with the same info. I am stuck with the bill now.
1. Are they supposed to send away for fuel analysis after failure of VAS testing?
2. Any ideas about going after fueling station?
3. Any ideas on goodwill from VW paying some of the bill?

TIA

Redrocketdi

TDI
2013 VW Jetta Sportwagen
I'm new to these cars. What is VAS and how would you fail?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

turbobrick240

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2011 vw golf tdi(gone to greener pastures), 2001 ford f250 powerstroke
You'd want to get a fuel sample from that station asap. But it wouldn't necessarily be that fill-up that contaminated the fuel. Did any family or friends drive the car over the holidays? I wouldn't trust VW's cheesy analyzer gadget anyhow. How many precision scientific instruments give measurements in smiley faces or frowny faces? You ought to draw your own sample from the car too. Good luck.

turbobrick240

Top Post Dawg
TDI
And yes, they are supposed to send a sample off to a lab for analysis if the sample fails the specific gravity and VAS sniffer tests. You should insist on that lab analysis.

Rxh007

TDI
2013 Passat TDI
That’s what I thought. Crazy how they quickly jumped to saying my warranty was void. VWoA has not been helpful at all. Everyone seems clueless about a process, but maybe that’s the way there are trained to be....

JesseTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Golf TDI, Premium package