CR140 Stage 3

JFettig

Vendor
TDI
B5 Passat, 2010 Jetta
I have been running Stage 3 on my CR140 for a couple months now, still making minor tweaks. I did a bunch of research and found everything I needed, its pretty simple easily as "bolt on" as a VNT17 is to a ALH or BEW.

Turbo: 03L 253 016 G

Turbo Inlet Pipe: 3C0 129 654 AJ or 3C0 129 654 P

Turbo inlet to turbo elbow: 3C0 129 635

EGT probe is too short so you need to make a spacer, .43-.45" OD, .285" ID .1" thick. Maybe the CR170 probe would work, which is straight.

Another option for a turbo is this:
Turbo: 03L 253 019 M - it has the older style flat faced outlet

All of these parts are available from Ebay UK or various vendors in Europe

Other than the EGR, this is a bolt on turbo upgrade. The EGR port on the manifold is on the opposite side, so it will have to be deleted. These turbos don't accommodate the LP EGR so that will have to also be deleted. I can't imagine that anyone installing this turbo will keep them. The DPF will still bolt up just fine or other available downpipes will also bolt up. There is another option to make the EGRs work, swap center section into the CR140 exhaust housing and bore the compressor cover for the CR170 wheel, a competent machine shop should be able to handle that. I know of 2 local shops that do it already(to other turbos). I haven't verified that the CR170 turbine fits in the CR140 exhaust housing, a PD170 turbine does however.