DRL fault code appearing.

ericy

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Golf TDI (wife's car)
My wife informed me that she is starting to get a fault code related to the DRL and parking light. This is on a 2015 Golf TDI. I used VAG-COM to read the codes and came up with this:

19210 - Right LED Module for DRL and Parking Lights
B12ED F2 [009] - Voltage Supply Open or Short to Plus
Confirmed - Tested Since Memory Clear
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 00000001
Fault Priority: 2
Fault Frequency: 3
Reset counter: 198
Mileage: 129818 km
Date: 2020.07.09
Time: 13:47:04

At this point, I am just starting out trying to figure out the cause - there was no accident, no change in parts or bulbs or anything else. I did a visual inspection of the front, and on the surface it looked like everything was OK (i.e. the DRL seemed to be on for both sides).

On the date/time in question it wasn't raining all that hard, but the clock on the car was off by exactly one day (it thought today was the 11th, not the 12th). If I apply this correction to the fault code above, then the fault would have actually happened on the 10th, and on that day it was pouring (catching the edge of a tropical storm).

So I am not entirely sure what to make of this - even though it doesn't say that it is intermittent, I am tempted to just clear the code and see if it comes back - the thinking being that moisture from the heavy rain caused a glitch.

Anyone else have any thoughts?

dwu.048

TDI
2015 Golf MK7 (DSG)
Sounds like it could have been a loose connection especially if everything looks fine. Is there a fault right now?

Sent from my BBF100-2 using Tapatalk

ericy

Veteran Member
TDI
Sounds like it could have been a loose connection especially if everything looks fine. Is there a fault right now?
Yeah. I cleared the code, and it came right back.

If it wasn't so damned hot in the garage right now, I would have been tempted to trace the wiring, and see if anything was loose.

dwu.048

TDI
2015 Golf MK7 (DSG)