What fuel can I put in my '97 Golf TDI GL Mk 3

janesnotjones

TDI
'97 GOLF TDI GL MK III
Hi All,

I'm new to all this, but interested by the possibility of running my tdi on alternative fuels. I've been trawling the net for answers, and the information I've seen is very mixed. Some say i can just put neat clean vegtable oil into my tank, some say i should make it into biodiesel. I've also heard that I can mix neat veg oil with regular diesel, at a ratio of 70/30 to 50/50. As well as all this, i've seen that I can thin veg oil with white spirit and pop that in.

Really, all i want to do is get from A to B for a bit cheaper, so don't really fancy any massive conversions or turning my garage into a chemical processing plant.

You can see that i've seen a lot of different options for alternative fuel, but it's hard to know which one to trust.

My car is fairly old, it cost me less than a grand, so I'm not desperately worried about the very long term damage, as it's already on 160k, although, obviously I don't want to hurt my car/wallet where it can be avoided.

Any advice welcome.

Many thanks.

Chris.

vwcampin

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 GLS TDI Auto
Chris,
I recomend going here and reading up a bit: http://biodiesel.infopop.cc/eve Biodiesel will certainly work fine, however most will recomend against dumping straight oil into your tank. Will your car run....sure. Will it run a long time....??? There is a solvent thinning section in the above forums that does speak about running single tank, but be forewarned that odds say it will lead to problems as the oil leaks past the rings before the engine is warmed up leading to your engine oil turning into pudding, as well as coking of the rings.

My opinion is if you do not want to make biodiesel or install a kit, you are just experimenting with how long your car will continue to run.

MrErlo

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Golf 4dr 5sp