www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 7th, 2019, 15:23   #1
Dreznon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Muskegon, MI
TDI(s): ALH
Fuel Economy: 40mpg
Default Timing belt change, but advanced on vcds graph

Hello all,

I have replaced my timing belt.

I have a manual and got the notch on flywheel.

I locked the cam and fuel injection pump pulley.

I matched the first crankshaft sprocket dot with the notch on the block and the other two dots followed to the right.

I reassembled the motor.

It started right up, but was rough and smoked pretty bad.

The car sat for 4 months, I thought that is why it was smoking since t started right up with no adjustment.

The VCDS shows the timing to be too far advanced to be plotted.

I retarted it all the way mechanically. It is still too far advanced to be graphed. It smokes less, but I know what turbo feels like and I don't have it. Yes, all my vacuum lines are connected.

I seen a video on YouTube that says you can advance the timing to 33268 instead of 32768. Can I retard the timing to 32268?

Please let me know your thoughts. I am really new to this.



https://imgur.com/85D4ryO
__________________
Your Animation Hero!

Last edited by Dreznon; May 7th, 2019 at 15:27. Reason: Image won't post
Dreznon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2019, 16:00   #2
Tdijarhead
Veteran Member
Default

So you adjusted it at the cam sprocket by loosening the 3 bolts? Where are those 3 bolts in their respective slots? More or less centered or all the way against one side or the other?
Tdijarhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2019, 16:51   #3
KLXD
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lompoc, CA
Default

Sometimes if the timing is off enough VCDS reports the opposite condition. I guess it's picking up the next cylinder. So try retarding it.

This is strange because the ALH usually requires little adjustment.

What's this mean: "I matched the first crankshaft sprocket dot with the notch on the block and the other two dots followed to the right."?

When you set the tensioner were the three pump sprocket bolts loose and was the cam sprocket loose on the shaft so it could rotate?

After setting the tension bur before torquing the cam and pump sprocket bolts did you verify that the crank was still at TDC?

If your static timing is off you shouldn't be messing with VCDS to bring it in.
__________________
Saying no to gas for 25 years:

Current: 02 Jetta, Auto; 98 Jetta, 5 Spd; 98 Dodge, 5 Spd, SB, 4x4; 84 Grand Wagoneer with Nissan SD33T, NV4500, Dana 300, Reverse Cut Dana 44, Dana 60

The Black Sheep (Only gasser): 85 CJ, 4.2 w/4.0 Head and Mopar FI.

Past: 85 Mitsubishi PU, 4D55T; 81 Rabbit, 1.6; 80 Dasher, 1.5; 79 Rabbit, 1.5
KLXD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2019, 22:18   #4
AndyBees
Veteran Member
 
AndyBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southeast Kentucky
Default

I think the OP has botched the TB job.

I suggest that he start over ........

1. Set the engine on TDC by the timing mark on the Flywheel (transmission end of engine).

2. Loosen the Cam Bolt and break the Sprocket Cog loose. <<<< EDIT: I didn't say remove, just loosen the bolt two or three turns.

3. Insert the Cam locking tool

4. Loosen the three bolts holding the IP Sprocket Cog

5. Insert the pin in the IP.

You may need to nudge the crankshaft forward or backward a bit......... typical.

Try to set the physical timing so that the three bolts in the IP Sprocket are centered in the slots............. it will be damn close in time if you do this!

Hope this helps!
__________________
This is the TDI Club, a place to share experiences & ideas, ask for help, etc. Welcome Newbies! Sarcastic and condescending posts shouldn't be welcome.

Last edited by AndyBees; August 11th, 2019 at 15:51. Reason: Add clarification
AndyBees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2019, 23:44   #5
Vince Waldon
Veteran Member
 
Vince Waldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Default

Step 2 *very* important... and if you skip this step strange timing things happen.
__________________
Vince Waldon Edmonton AB Canada
Canadian Grizzly's excellent low-power/limp mode troubleshooting guide
VW's TSB for scientifically tracking down parasitic current drains
Vince Waldon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 05:34   #6
jettawreck
Veteran Member
 
jettawreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Minnesota-55744
Fuel Economy: 52+ average lifetime '01
Default

Suggest a read thru a couple times to get the proper steps in mind and then follow it as the job proceeds...
http://pics3.tdiclub.com/pdf/a4timingbelt.pdf
__________________

2001 Jetta TDI GLS Silver-current driver (salvage)permanently vented-Panzer Plate-Sprint 520s-ScanGauge-CheckTemp III-ZeroStart heater-CAT 2 filter
2003 Jetta GLS Black w/leather (New Project Car) fixer-upper w/broken TB
2004 Cadillac SLS (wife's)
1999 GMC Suburban (It's MN-you need one)
197? Shibura 2cyl diesel 4WD tractor-loader/brushhog (very handy unit)
196? International TD340 Dozer-w/Drott 4-in-1 bucket/back ripper attachment
jettawreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 12:49   #7
BobnOH
not-a-mechanic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: central Ohio
Fuel Economy: 50/45/35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreznon View Post
..........................................I seen a video on YouTube that says you can advance the timing to 33268 instead of 32768. Can I retard the timing to 32268?.....................

You can do this (it's actually recommended in one of our old FAQs) but first you want the timing right in the middle. Sounds like you just need to go back to the mechanical time step with the bolts loose as you re-tension. Then fine tune with the IP pulley bolts using VCDS or equal.
BobnOH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 12:54   #8
Dreznon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Muskegon, MI
TDI(s): ALH
Fuel Economy: 40mpg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdijarhead View Post
So you adjusted it at the cam sprocket by loosening the 3 bolts? Where are those 3 bolts in their respective slots? More or less centered or all the way against one side or the other?
They are all the way retarded, as far as they can go.

VCDS shows timing 255.
__________________
Your Animation Hero!
Dreznon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 12:57   #9
Dreznon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Muskegon, MI
TDI(s): ALH
Fuel Economy: 40mpg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince Waldon View Post
Step 2 *very* important... and if you skip this step strange timing things happen.
I never removed the cam sprocket.

can I fix this with the motor assembled?
__________________
Your Animation Hero!
Dreznon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 12:58   #10
Dreznon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Muskegon, MI
TDI(s): ALH
Fuel Economy: 40mpg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jettawreck View Post
Suggest a read thru a couple times to get the proper steps in mind and then follow it as the job proceeds...
http://pics3.tdiclub.com/pdf/a4timingbelt.pdf
On it!
__________________
Your Animation Hero!
Dreznon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 13:01   #11
flee
Veteran Member
 
flee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Fuel Economy: 40-ish
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreznon View Post
I never removed the cam sprocket.
can I fix this with the motor assembled?
Removed or loosened?
'Breaking it loose' is necessary but not actually removing it though it frees up some room.
__________________
2002 Jetta GLS TDI wagon

Last edited by flee; May 8th, 2019 at 13:03.
flee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 13:04   #12
Dreznon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Muskegon, MI
TDI(s): ALH
Fuel Economy: 40mpg
Default

I was thinking if I am able to loosen the belt somehow with the motor assembled then I could retard the IP pulley 21 teeth (8 degrees) per tooth. moving within the holes does not retard it enough to budge but a few degrees and since I am sitting at 255 on VCDS then that is 21 teeth. In theory.

If you guys have a suggestion of loosening the belt with the motor assembled then please let me know and I will do it one tooth at a time on the IP until I get it to 65.

I am pretty sure that's what I need to do, no?
__________________
Your Animation Hero!
Dreznon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 13:05   #13
Dreznon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Muskegon, MI
TDI(s): ALH
Fuel Economy: 40mpg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flee View Post
Removed or loosened?
I did not.
__________________
Your Animation Hero!
Dreznon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 13:17   #14
flee
Veteran Member
 
flee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Fuel Economy: 40-ish
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreznon View Post
I did not.
Ah, well go through the correct procedure and then you'll see if the IP sprocket is off
by the position of the screws in the slots. Get the holes as close to center of the slots as
as you can with the locking pin in place. It may be a tooth or so off, so correct it now.
__________________
2002 Jetta GLS TDI wagon

Last edited by flee; May 8th, 2019 at 13:20.
flee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 13:18   #15
Dreznon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Muskegon, MI
TDI(s): ALH
Fuel Economy: 40mpg
Default

correction, yes the lobes were up!
__________________
Your Animation Hero!
Dreznon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Injection pump timing too advanced (VCDS says) h1h0silver VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 8 July 22nd, 2018 21:03
VCDS timing graph? dweisel VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 10 January 25th, 2018 19:17
Can't get timing graph to show up, VCDS! turbovan+tdi OBD Scanners 0 February 29th, 2016 13:09
unable to read timing graph in VCDS xtremetractorteam OBD Scanners 12 March 27th, 2009 16:58
Timing too advanced to plot graph blued TDI 101 5 July 5th, 2007 04:17


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18971 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 132.47 Kb. compressed to 110.16 Kb. by saving 22.31 Kb. (16.84%)]