1st gen toyota

82blue

TDI
toyota
Interested in swapping a tdi into a 82 toyota pickup 4wd. I want to keep it pre 97 so I dont have to smog in California. I was wondering what motors would be good candidates. I am also not a wiring expert and that is the part of the swap that would be most challenging for me.

markd89

Veteran Member
TDI
1978 VW Bus 1Z TDI
IANAL but 97 and before engines would be the 1Z/AHU from the 96-97 Passat or 97 Jetta.

That said, when my conversion was done, they only checked that the engine was diesel. Externally, it'd be hard to tell the difference between a 1Z/AHU and an ALH unless you really know what you're doing.

Since my vehicle is 78 it is now registered as a 78 diesel needing no smog. I did not go to the referee. It was all done at DMV. Search the forum and there's more info on CA DMV experiences.

IMO, I'd think about an ALH. You can get more power from them when highly built but more importantly a 100K mile timing belt. They're also newer.

Good luck!
Mark

P.S. Post lots of pics if you decide to move ahead!

samuraitd

Veteran Member
TDI
ahu mtdi samurai swap, 1991 jetta ecodiesel
Keep in mind Mark, the 98 jetta had the ahu as well. To op, they will most likely want to know what vehicle the engine came out of. One thing is for sure, the engine must be newer than the vehicle it is going into.

samuraitd

Veteran Member
TDI
whats the easiest to wire up, anything converted to mechanical?
Yes you can convert to mechanical. Search for mtdi build. Or mtdi pump build. When you convert to mechanical, like I did, you must either swap to a mechanical pump, or build a mechanical pump using some older idi pumps, combined with parts from a tdi electronic pump. Or you can just use one of these, they are pretty much straight bolt on. A little work is still required, at least with the one I used, such as fabbing a bracket on the rear of the pump. But it is very easily done.