Engine Stalled, Now Won't Start. Please Help...

Big Jimmy

TDI
2003 Jetta Wagon
I was on my way home from work when my engine stalled as I was going up a hill. I pulled over and my car would not re-start. So I had it towed home and it has not started since it died on that hill.

I'm new to TDI Club and new to forums in general, so I hope I'm posting this in the correct area...

Here are my thoughts on what may have gone wrong:

- Relay 109 - I checked this and I have the newer Gray one. And it looks fine to me. I'm not sure how to tell if it is damaged or not. Is there a way to check it or test it?

- Fuel pump(s) - I have not looked into this yet. I'm not really sure how to. I haven't been able to find very much info yet about the fuel pumps or how to replace them.

- Bad fuel - I've heard that sometimes it is possible to get a "bad batch of fuel"... Is that true? Could that be the problem? I had just filled up the tank earlier that day and I had only driven 15 miles since filling up when it stalled out. Would it be possible that it took about 15 miles to get the new "bad" fuel through the fuel lines and up to the engine? How can I check this? Do I need to drain the tank somehow? Or can I by-pass the tank with fresh fuel to see if it will start? I'm not sure how to purge all of the fuel out of the system.

The car still turns over just fine. My starter cranks and cranks, no problem, but the engine isn't even trying to start.

Please help. I'm not really sure what to do next...

LNXGUY

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'05 Jetta TDI Wagon
Might wanna mention the specs on your car? Year? Engine?

In the mean time put it in a heated garage to see if perhaps gelled fuel is your issue.

Big Jimmy

TDI
2003 Jetta Wagon
Oh... Yeah... Sorry.

It's a 2003 Jetta Wagon

And I pushed it into the garage as soon as I got it towed home. This happened almost a month ago now. And I tried again to start it yesterday while it was in my garage. Still nothing.

DbLog

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 335d