going to use my Princess Auto evacuator this weekend for oil change

SDMFer

Veteran Member
TDI
d
I've never used this before still brand new in the box, anyone have any tips for me that I should know before or during the process?

Thanks in advance yall

SDMFer

Veteran Member
TDI
d
yah i would definately warm her up. But without looking at the thing, i just stick the tube down the dipstik and pump away etc?

sorry I havent really done any searching on this....was just going to wing it (im usually pretty good at figuring things out)

ymz

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI Wagon, 2003 Jetta TDI Wagon
Be gentle when you get the tube all the way down into the oil sump... you'll have to move it around a bit to make sure the tube doesn't bend too much... on some models people have found that there's something down there (a baffle) that catches while trying to remove the tube... don't force it out, as you don't want to break off the tip of the plastic hose inside the engine...

Have fun "hunting" for hiding areas for old oil inside the oil filter housing...

Yuri.

SDMFer

Veteran Member
TDI
d
...and freezing my nads off...:)

Thanks for the advice guys

CmdrData

Veteran Member
North of 401, where the snow double/triple up!
TDI
2001 Golf - used to
Yes, stick the tube all the way down until it hit the oil pan (not sure if it is any different for PD, I've an ALH) and pump away until it's too stiff to pump anymore. Oil might move slowly into the container in the beginning, just go away for 10-15mins, go back and pump some more.

yatzee

Top Post Dawg
TDI
see sig
how much was the tool?

It would be nice to not have to jack my car up - it's a really pain to jack the entire front end when your car is lowered....

SDMFer

Veteran Member
TDI
d
Hey there sorry for the late reply. Can't remember how much I paid. I got it back a few months ago when they were on sale at princess auto.