www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > Meetings/ GTG/ Regional Discussions > Ontario

Ontario Local discussions for those in the Ontario, Canada area.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 14th, 2007, 09:04   #1
OmegaRenegade
 
OmegaRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brampton
TDI(s): 2004 Jetta
Default scan gauge II Help

I need some help with this scangauge i bought. The overall functions i've figured out and it is quite handy. The problem / issue that has caught my attension came about after i filled up last night.

Is it possible that the grade of fuel inside my car right now is causing my engine to burn more of it. My previous tank i filled up at husky and my average daily burn rate was about 4.8L/100km. after i filled up last night i went through the screens and adapted the scangauge to show that i have filled up. I drove 150km's mostly highway at a steady 100km/h and was astonished that my burn rate had increased substantially. 8.9L/100km! from this i noticed that my Litre per hour consumption had doubled at idle aswell. was around .5L/H and is now 1.1L/H what might have caused this to change like that? the only thing that was done is i filled up at a different station (shell).

Has anyone encountered this before?
__________________
2004 Jetta TDI 5 Speed 420 000km PD130 ASZ Engine
SLIGHTLY Modified

OmegaRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 11:10   #2
RichDiesel
Veteran Member
 
RichDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Point Clark, Ontario
Default

I don't have a scanguage and I know that I get better mileage with Esso then Sunoco Gold. My car burns more Sunoco then Esso fuel under the exact same driving conditions.

After this tank, go back to the Husky and fill up and see what your numbers are.

Seems pretty straight forward to me.
__________________
I blame TDiClub for the following: Ventectomy, AlienTech, , Sprint 520's, VR6 Clutch & Flywheel, Aluminum Skid Plate, Kerma Tuned, ScanGauge II, Sirius Satellite Radio, BORA TDI Badge, 342,000kms...and counting. FaceBook, Timing Belts: 2
RichDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 11:52   #3
Bradtholomew
Veteran Member
 
Bradtholomew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Fuel Economy: 4.9 L/100km
Default

That's strange. I never saw much of a difference between fuel brands on the SG, certainly not that much. I think you just need to run a couple more tanks and calibrate it further.

I did see a big difference when I went from stock to the Aligator tune. My consumption at idle as reported went way up, even though my overall mileage increased.

What are your percentages? (speedo adjustment, fuel)

I'm running at +4% for speed, 0% for fuel (up since the winter blends kicked in)
__________________
2011 F-150 - 60,000kms. 3.5L Ecoboost, 4x4
2002 Golf GLS - 605,000kms. Titan 520's and Aligator
1988 Pontiac Fiero GT - 200,000kms. 3800 Series II supercharged/intercooled
1987 Pontiac Fiero GT - 125,000kms. 3800 Series III supercharged
Bradtholomew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 13:49   #4
OmegaRenegade
 
OmegaRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brampton
TDI(s): 2004 Jetta
Default

i am at +3 for speed, i dont really have anything to base it off of other then when i am going 100km/hour according to my dash vag-com tells me i am doing 96km/hour. As for the fuel. i think thats whatever the default is. Do i set up the fuel % in the cuttoff option?
__________________
2004 Jetta TDI 5 Speed 420 000km PD130 ASZ Engine
SLIGHTLY Modified

OmegaRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 14:12   #5
Bradtholomew
Veteran Member
 
Bradtholomew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Fuel Economy: 4.9 L/100km
Default

Yeah, you need to calibrate it after a fillup. Go to:

HOME>MORE>FILLUP>

Enter the number of litres you put in, and it'll adjust the percentage. I always vent to the top so I'm filling up to the same level every time. I think in the manual they recommend you fill up to the first click, but as long as you're filling to a consistent level you'll get good accuracy. It might take a couple tanks to get close..

I use 62L as my tank capacity btw.
__________________
2011 F-150 - 60,000kms. 3.5L Ecoboost, 4x4
2002 Golf GLS - 605,000kms. Titan 520's and Aligator
1988 Pontiac Fiero GT - 200,000kms. 3800 Series II supercharged/intercooled
1987 Pontiac Fiero GT - 125,000kms. 3800 Series III supercharged
Bradtholomew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 14:15   #6
OmegaRenegade
 
OmegaRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brampton
TDI(s): 2004 Jetta
Default

i set the tank capacity to 60L i vent and fill right to the brim. i dont stop until i see it settled at the top of the filler spout. i'll let it settle out. Apparently at the rate the car is "supposedly" running i'll only get 449km out of a FULL tank.
__________________
2004 Jetta TDI 5 Speed 420 000km PD130 ASZ Engine
SLIGHTLY Modified

OmegaRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 14:21   #7
Bradtholomew
Veteran Member
 
Bradtholomew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Fuel Economy: 4.9 L/100km
Default

Heh. Scangauge can sense that you sprung a leak

Yeah, I'd just play with that fillup adjustment until you get numbers that start to look close. Cruising at 100 I'll get right around 4.8 L/100km, same as you... I'd adjust it on the fly until it gets close, since you're pretty far off now for whatever reason.
__________________
2011 F-150 - 60,000kms. 3.5L Ecoboost, 4x4
2002 Golf GLS - 605,000kms. Titan 520's and Aligator
1988 Pontiac Fiero GT - 200,000kms. 3800 Series II supercharged/intercooled
1987 Pontiac Fiero GT - 125,000kms. 3800 Series III supercharged
Bradtholomew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 14:28   #8
Sweeps
Veteran Member
 
Sweeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Default

I am at +5 for speed, which is dead on with GPS.
__________________
Steve
- MK4, MK5, MK6 Jetta TDI's in the past
- 2013 Outback 2.5i - wife's commuter
- Subaru Demo
- 02 BMW 330i - weekend fun.
Sweeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 16:16   #9
OmegaRenegade
 
OmegaRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brampton
TDI(s): 2004 Jetta
Default

so turns out the fuel adjustment number was WAY off... it was at 100% i've dropped it down to 0% and will do like you said... cruise at 100km/hour and adjust it till i get 4.8-5.0L/100km. Handly little tool tho, its almost as handy as my Vag-com... ALMOST but not quite.
__________________
2004 Jetta TDI 5 Speed 420 000km PD130 ASZ Engine
SLIGHTLY Modified

OmegaRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 14:09   #10
MEIN_VW
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Default

Anyone have photos of how you've mounted your Scangauge? I've had mine since the spring and I'm really happy with it. It would be nice if it showed boost pressure though but I can live with MAP.
__________________
2014 Golf TDI Highline wagon
MEIN_VW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 15:57   #11
OmegaRenegade
 
OmegaRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brampton
TDI(s): 2004 Jetta
Default

i just velcro'd it to the steering column
__________________
2004 Jetta TDI 5 Speed 420 000km PD130 ASZ Engine
SLIGHTLY Modified

OmegaRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 08:52   #12
McBrew
Veteran Member
 
McBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Annapolis, MD
Fuel Economy: 54/50/44 (usually running B100)
Default

If you don't have seat heaters, like me, you can move the defrost button over to the far left and mount the SG to the right of the four-way-flasher button. I'm guessing most of you folks in Canada have the heated seats, though.
__________________
-McBrew
2015 Fiat 500 Abarth cabriolet.
2016 Kia Sedona - the wife's car, but I secretly like it.
Still have 3 TDIs in the family fleet.
McBrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 09:06   #13
OmegaRenegade
 
OmegaRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brampton
TDI(s): 2004 Jetta
Default

i LOVE my heated seats! but am curious as to how you managed ure mount. Pictures?
__________________
2004 Jetta TDI 5 Speed 420 000km PD130 ASZ Engine
SLIGHTLY Modified

OmegaRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 09:11   #14
TheDieselFamily
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Default

I mounted mine above the factory radio. I drilled a hole in the blank plate for the connection, so it is not seen at all. If you mount it as far up as possible, the CD just slides out under it. When ever I get strange mileage readings, it is because I screwed up the fullup routine. I try to remember my modification factor so I can restore it. For my PD it is about 67%
__________________
TheDieselFamily
2011 Touareg TDI Execline towing a T@B trailer
2005 Golf GLS TDI
1983 Vanagon GL diesel
ex '09 Touareg TDI, '96 Jetta diesel,'82 Audi 5000 diesel, '78 & '77 Rabbit diesel
TheDieselFamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2007, 05:43   #15
Tsagoth
Veteran Member
 
Tsagoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hanover, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaRenegade
so turns out the fuel adjustment number was WAY off... it was at 100% i've dropped it down to 0% and will do like you said... cruise at 100km/hour and adjust it till i get 4.8-5.0L/100km. Handly little tool tho, its almost as handy as my Vag-com... ALMOST but not quite.
The fuel adjustment on my SGII fluctuates between -28% and -30%. I set it every time I fill up and it just seems to ping-pong back and forth, presumably due to tiny inaccuracies in both measurement of consumption and actual fill.

Twice though, it reset the fuel adaptation to something weird. So if you're getting an odd result, check it to make sure it still has the right engine/fueltype/percentage. Once I had it just reset itself to defaults, and the other time it was just some odd value, displayed alpha characters instead of a number, really fritzed.
Tsagoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16055 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 127.75 Kb. compressed to 106.01 Kb. by saving 21.74 Kb. (17.02%)]