05 Passat Possible Blown Turbo?

KJNDIVER

TDI
2015 Passat TDI SEL
Ok guys, i know my profile says that i joined some time ago, but i am new to the tdi club. I registered years ago when i first started looking for a tdi, found a few but the deal never came thru. I just purchased a 2005 Passat GLS back in February with 227k when i bought it and have 233k on it now.

Everything has been fine for the most part, I have a stack of documents from the previous owners dating all the way back to the window sticker and brochures when new. Car started in Michigan before making way to Texas and now south La. The major things done and when, timing belt done at 100k and 227k, trans rebuild at 150k, cam replacement at 185k, and oil pump replaced at 227k. I have driven it without any ill effect for about 5000 miles and was planning my first oil change in it this weekend, but now i have other plans.

About two weeks ago i noticed some smoking on start up, not for long, but present. Then a few days later it would smoke a lil heavier on startup and continue for a few miles until warm and i could no longer detect it. However when coming to a stop and the window down i could detect a burnt oil smell. Ive had some beaters in my days, i know what oil leaks and hot surfaces smell like, hahaha. Anyway, i had decided that when i did my oil change i would investigate where the oil leak was coming from. Now i think i know where that source was coming from....