New Poster

Caddie

TDI
Jetta GL, 2003, Silver
Hi guys, i stumbled upon your forums the other night and have been overjoyed ever since at the prospect of upgrading my TDI, previously i thought there were no mods for them.

I have read the FAQ and i just wanted to ask for your advice before i dive in to the MOD arena head first.

I have a 2003 Jetta TDI, the 90HP one with an Automatic transmission. I was looking into the injector upgrade (from 0.158mm to 0.184mm injectors) with an Upsolute chip.

http://www.upsolute.com/eng/index.html

In addition to that i was going to look into the Intercooler Kit on the same Upsolute page.
EDIT: whoops, forgot about this exhaust also:

http://techtonicstuning.com/

TT Stainless 2.5 in. Exhaust 1999-up Jetta VR6/TDI

My Question: With the above mods in mind, would the stock parts be ok or will i need to replace the clutch/tranny/etc?
Also, has anyone traveled the avenue of the larger intercooler(link above)?
Im a noob when it comes to this subject and i have only known of it since yesterday but i found this in the FAQ:

"If you are starting with an A4 automatic with Upsolute or Wetterauer chip and no tuning box, you can install 0.184 injectors provided that you recalibrate the EGR system so that maximum possible intake air is specified, and recalibrate reported injection quantity at warm idle to around 3.0 mg/stroke, or possibly slightly greater if exhaust smoke proves to be an issue. Do not use any type of tuning box in this application, it will be marginal on exhaust smoke without adding still more fuel. This configuration has been tested on quite a few vehicles with no known issues at this writing. Long term durability of the automatic transmission in this application is not known."

I just wanted to make sure i dont overcook anything. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks

TheRedMagi

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf GLS, 2003, Reflex Silver