Letting a TDI idle... good? bad? really bad?

MarylandJetta

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Jetta TDI
Hi All --

I'm new to TDIs but not to VWs/Audi. Just got a 2010 Jetta TDI and absolutely love it.

So I have a question. Where I live the power goes out occasionally and I was thinking of getting a fairly beefy (750 watt) digital inverter so that I could, in a pinch, run some minor electrical items off the car. Would it be bad to let the car idle for 30 or 60 minutes at a time while doing so? I know that big rigs will be left idling for hours or days; is that kind of treatment really bad on a TDI?

Joe_Meehan

Top Post Dawg
TDI
NB TDI, 2002.5, Silver
I doubt if it is going to hurt the engine, but it might cost you a new alternator. It is not really engineered for that kind of work.

MarylandJetta

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Jetta TDI
Joe_Meehan said:
I doubt if it is going to hurt the engine, but it might cost you a new alternator. It is not really engineered for that kind of work.

Hmm, that's a good point. Hadn't really thought about that. Thanks. :)

mohawk69

Veteran Member
TDI
1996 B4, 1996 B4V, 2000 Beetle TDI
Have you considered moving? Just kidding. I saw a small Chinese junk generator for sale at harbor freight for less then 200$. I think it was even two stroke. Even better, watch CL and pick up a used, name brand, suitcase type generator cheap. That would be far better then letting a new car idle.

VeeDubTDI

Wanderluster, Traveler, TDIClub Enthusiast
TDI
‘18 Tesla Model 3D+, ‘14 Cadillac ELR, ‘13 Fiat 500e
It won't be able to power that large of an inverter at idle. Fast idle, yes... regular, no.

MarylandJetta

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Jetta TDI
mohawk69 said:
Have you considered moving? Just kidding. I saw a small Chinese junk generator for sale at harbor freight for less then 200$. I think it was even two stroke. Even better, watch CL and pick up a used, name brand, suitcase type generator cheap. That would be far better then letting a new car idle.