My Jetta TDI 2000 lost Power What Could it be?

Davo23

Veteran Member
TDI
B.M.W - not the car
I figured it could be the turbo cause I dont hear that (zzzz) noise anymore, but I'm not an expert!! Even My fuel consumption went down I cant even do 1100 Km on a tank anymore!! + When I drive on the highway and I put the pedal to the metal, it doesnt kick , it has trouble going up a mountain, but i can go to 120-130lm/hr with ease but cant surpass that limit it just wont go!! And When its cold outside the car runs smoother? Can it be a sensor , Or is it the Turbo?
Help Pls,
Thanks
Davo

SoCalJames

Veteran Member
TDI
I no longer own a TDI
I can almost guarantee you that a failing MAF- Mass AirFlow sensor, is your problem. You can do the "unplug test" to narrow the possibility that this is the problem. Unplug the MAF as shown in the pic while the engine is OFF. Then, drive it normally, prefferably only around town. If you notice a distinct and immediate power increase, then I'll bet you it is your MAF failing. (Unplugging it forces the motor into "limp home mode," which actually isn't bad). Please note that a failing MAF does not necessarily make the "Check Engine Light" go on. If you unplug the MAF and drive it, the "Check Engine Light" will come on once normal operating temperature has been reached. No worries- It will reset itself after 3 ambient to operating temperature cycles and no sooner. (Provided the ECU, (Electronic Control Unit, or Brain, has detected NO fault, and you have re-plugged it in correctly). That means if you RE-plug your MAF and take 5 short trips where the temp never reaches "Operating Temp," the light will not go away.