MK5 : DSG Gasket/Fluid/Filter Replacement HELP?

billiebbyy

TDI
‘06 VW Jetta TDI - BRM Engine 212k Miles - 2nd Owner - DIYer
So I’m about to do my first DSG fluid/filter change. The car is almost fifteen years old (2006) so most of the rubber has or on the brink of disintegrating... When I change the fluid, I’m also going to change the gasket but I saw a hole on the pan that has two rubber seals as well that you can see the mechatronics unit through (from the diagram I saw). I’m just curious if there is anything I need to know before getting into this job. It’s definitely due for a change so any info or DIYs you can link would be greatly appreciated. I’m just a little hesitant being that I’ve never done this before. I could get in there and it all be self explanatory, but I’d love to hear your opinions beforehand in case it isn’t. ��

Last edited:

JETaah

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
96 B4V, 1999.5 jettaIV,2005 BEW Beetle
Whoa Nelly!
The only gaskets you need is an aluminum ring washer for the drain plug and the o ring that comes with most filters. The front pan does not come off needlessly for a typical maintenance service. Is yours leaking?

billiebbyy

TDI
Whoa Nelly!
The only gaskets you need is an aluminum ring washer for the drain plug and the o ring that comes with most filters. The front pan does not come off needlessly for a typical maintenance service. Is yours leaking?

Well ALL the rubber on the car has gone to hell; so I planned on replacing the gaskets when I do the service... that’s all. As far as I’m aware, no leak. Any DIY or advice you can give me? Lmao.

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Unless there is a leak, there is no need to mess with the M-unit cover. And if there IS a leak, in some cases, it is fluid seeping up the M-unit's connector itself, and no amount of resealing the cover and pass-through o-rings will fix it.