www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 8th, 2008, 06:26   #16
IndigoBlueWagon
TDIClub Enthusiast
Principal IDParts
Vendor
w/Business number
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South of Boston
Fuel Economy: 50/45/37
Default

Jonathan showed me this the other night: It's really great, especially for those of us who are excel-challenged.
__________________
2002 Jetta wagon, 373K, RC3+; 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300D 2.5, 197K; 1997 Passat, 286K; '99.5 Golf, 259K; 2011 335d, 56K; 2015 Golf Sportwagen, 10K. Principal, http://www.idparts.com
Kid's cars: 2002 Golf TDI, 2002 Jetta TDI
IndigoBlueWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2008, 11:43   #17
SBAtdijetta
Veteran Member
 
SBAtdijetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Fuel Economy: Best 51.4mpg, AVG 38+ and climbing
Default

Wow! That is cool, thanks for sharing this!
__________________
10 Jetta TDI 6spd Cup - Tune, Turbo back Exh, BBS, etc
02 Jetta TDI Auto beater - Stock - Soon to be for sale
06 Jetta TDI 5spd - VNT2556,PD150 Injectors,3"TB,Pelq.,etc., Never dynoed in final config. - Sold
Need help? I have VAG-COM
SBAtdijetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2008, 13:27   #18
milehighassassin
Veteran Member
 
milehighassassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Fuel Economy: 43
Default

I'm going to have to try this out, when I get home. I have used Excel and frankly I feel it is a pain with Vag-Com.


sounds like a good product!
__________________
http://www.hardeysmotorwerks.com/
http://www.20vturbo.com (R.I.P)
2005 Golf TDI PD, FM100, Frostheater, Hidden Hitch,
Clear-bra, Tint, VR6/G60 Clutch Combo, EuroJet SMIC, Custom Lower intercooler Pipe, VNT-17, Panzer Plate
Custom 3" turbo-back exhaust
milehighassassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 08:41   #19
milehighassassin
Veteran Member
 
milehighassassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Fuel Economy: 43
Default

I have some VAG logs and I can't get this to work.

I do have .net 2.0 installed. The program and you sample plot work fine.

Any suggestions?
__________________
http://www.hardeysmotorwerks.com/
http://www.20vturbo.com (R.I.P)
2005 Golf TDI PD, FM100, Frostheater, Hidden Hitch,
Clear-bra, Tint, VR6/G60 Clutch Combo, EuroJet SMIC, Custom Lower intercooler Pipe, VNT-17, Panzer Plate
Custom 3" turbo-back exhaust
milehighassassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 10:52   #20
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default

Send me the log(s) and I'll check them out...

jvhess at comcast dot net
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 18:34   #21
SheeB
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Default

Wow, just what I was looking for as I am no good with Excel what so ever! I have the logs already saved so hopefully this will graph them all nice for me! Thanks for the utility!
SheeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 11:01   #22
kooyajerms
grocery getter
 
kooyajerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pomona, Southern California
Default

bumping this, people need to use this.

Jon, how do I make the graph show 3 different logs at the same time? When I open the file it makes 3 different plots (group a b and c).

Last edited by kooyajerms; January 8th, 2009 at 11:05.
kooyajerms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 09:33   #23
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kooyajerms
bumping this, people need to use this.

Jon, how do I make the graph show 3 different logs at the same time? When I open the file it makes 3 different plots (group a b and c).
Not too sure what you are asking... If you want to view the three groups at the same time, you could open three instances of the app all viewing the same log and re-size accordingly then set the viewable tab to a, b and c accordingly. Not ideal I know. Another thing I was thinking about adding is a synchronize x axis option where you could zoom in on one groups x axis ( time ) and then have the other two groups scale to the same x axis also.

Just haven't had much time for adding anything to this lately, thanks for the bump though. Your comment/request is noted though. It could be something that I might be able to add at a later date. I suppose I could also share this code and make it an open source project or something.
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 17:41   #24
Fix_Until_Broke
Veteran Member
 
Fix_Until_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Fuel Economy: 75.0/53.0/38.4
Default

Plotting different groups from VagCom data is a little tricky by the way the data is organized.

Each group has it's own time stamp so there is no data from group 1 or group 4 at the same time as data from group 11 for example.

0.25 sec = Group 1 data
0.50 sec = Group 4 data
0.75 sec = Group 11 data
1.00 sec = Group 1 data
1.25 sec = Group 4 data
1.50 sec = Group 11 data
1.75 sec = Group 1 data
2.00 sec = Group 4 data
2.25 sec = Group 11 data
etc
etc
Is how it's actually taken

0.25 sec = Group 1 data..........0.50 sec = Group 4 data..........0.75 sec = Group 11 data
1.00 sec = Group 1 data..........1.25 sec = Group 4 data..........1.50 sec = Group 11 data
1.75 sec = Group 1 data..........2.00 sec = Group 4 data..........2.25 sec = Group 11 data

and so on is how it's displayed in groups.

So even though there is data taken every 0.25 seconds (for example), the data is for different groups each time.

If you plot it on a common X axis (the left most one typically) the data will look like it's synchronous between groups, but will actually be off by 1 or two sample times (which when you're taking data on 3 groups, the sample rate is pretty slow - just a little faster than once/second).

If you only record one group, then you can get the full time resolution.

If you could have the application evaluate the first column of each group and sort that data (keeping all the data together for that time stamp) into a table like the first example I posted above, then you can plot it all against the same X axis of time and get an accurate graph.

Hope that helps some?
__________________
03 Jetta, Cat 2u, DG Steel SP w/MOGolf Mod, 3"DP, 4"EXH, EaBP100 Bypass, Euroswitch, ECodes, Driving Light, PD Lift Pump, R520's, RC5,RC6, TDTuning, Malone, ScanGaugeII, 3" TIP, 2" TOP, HE221W Compounded with GTC1444VZ, 6 Bar MAP, VR6 MAF, Vented Fender Liner, Battery Cover Mod, 11mm, Monster Mats, 215/55/17 (27.9/53.0/75) Monthly MPG Links, Euro Trunk Latch, IDParts RSB, SDI or ALH Intake, ARL Ceramic Pistons, Rosten Rods, DRW, Wavetrac, SBC, FSD's, Beef Springs, Rebuilt Head, Recaro's, Colt II, DG Sigma 6, RMT200
Fix_Until_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 18:00   #26
Sip'n Diesel
Veteran Newbie
 
Sip'n Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Joaquin Valley, I have VCDS (KII-USB)
Fuel Economy: 900 miles on 16.9 gallons - Personal Endurance Record
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kooyajerms
bumping this, people need to use this.
this thread should be a sticky
__________________
2003 Jetta GL - 5 Speed Manual - Alaska Green - Dieselgeek Panzer Plate & Full Metal Jacket - DGRP - ScanGaugeII - WeatherTech Deflectors - Vent Delete - DRL Delete - Muffler Delete - KONI STR.T - Redneck Armrest - 5 Brake Lights - Otherwise all stock, for now
Sip'n Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 16:06   #27
dieseleux
Théoricien -TDIClub Contributor
 
dieseleux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pas assez loin pour vider ma tank!
TDI(s): Jetta TDI 02
Fuel Economy: 4.2L/100km
Default

I have possible issue!
On my computer (.net 2.0 install and after upgrade to 3.5) i see only one trace of 4.





Dieseleux

p.s.: I test on 5 machine... 3 not work good, 2 are ok!
__________________
Si votre seul outil est un marteau, toute les solution ressemble à des clou.
If your only tool is a hammer, all the solution looks like nail.



Last edited by dieseleux; February 14th, 2009 at 20:17.
dieseleux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2009, 20:35   #28
dieseleux
Théoricien -TDIClub Contributor
 
dieseleux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pas assez loin pour vider ma tank!
TDI(s): Jetta TDI 02
Fuel Economy: 4.2L/100km
Default

I found the trouble....
My machine is set for "," and not fot "."


Dieseleux
__________________
Si votre seul outil est un marteau, toute les solution ressemble à des clou.
If your only tool is a hammer, all the solution looks like nail.


dieseleux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2009, 20:43   #29
Torque_Delight
TDIClub Enthusiast
Modded
 
Torque_Delight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St-Jean, Québec, Canada
Fuel Economy: ~5 l/100km
Default

Nice you found the problem, Yeah it's always good to verify the regional settings to be sure the separator is really to ",".

BTW, Very nice tool ! Good work here !
__________________
Jetta TDI 2001 GL (~680 000 km) : GT-1749VB, EGT/O2/Boost Gauges, Scangauge II, Sachs VR6 Clutch kit, OEM G60 Flywheel, 502 Nozzles, MRTuning, Euroswitch, Hella Micro-DE w/ yellow bulb, Rear fog, Wolfsburg's Heated Seats, Koni STR.T Shocks, H&R OE Sport Springs, TT Control Arm Bushings, 17" Santa Monica (GTI VR6) Wheels, DieselGeek Skid Plate, FX35 HID Projectors Retrofit, GLI Tail Lights, 2004 Trunk lid.
Torque_Delight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 05:21   #30
WVU TDI
Veteran Member
 
WVU TDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Beckley, WV
Default

This is a nice little application. I know my way around excel rather well, but for a quick check, this is really nice.
__________________
1997 Passat TDI (sold)
2001 Golf TDI (sold)
2010 4dr Golf TDI, 6M (sold)
2013 Passat TDI SE, 6M -- turbo failed at 9500 miles.
WVU TDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.15312 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 133.32 Kb. compressed to 111.30 Kb. by saving 22.01 Kb. (16.51%)]