Cold Air Intakes/Inter Cooler, and mods

Maskraven01

TDI
2015 Jetta SEL TDI
I am looking for some advice on what to do for my 2015 VW Jetta SEL TDI. I have heard that intakes and intercoolers don't do a whole lot but curious. What mods can be done without affecting the warranty. This car I bought brand new about a month ago and only has about 700 miles on it. I recently put a new performance exhaust on the vehicle but am looking for some more. I am new to the TDI's but have own Volkswagens for a while now. Thanks for your time and help

adjat84th

Veteran Member
TDI
'01 Jetta TDI/'15 Golf TDI
An intake will only gain you some cool noises.
The intercooler on these EA288 motors are air/water units. It uses it's own coolant circuit with separate radiator to keep charge air temps in check, and it does a great job. Best you could do is get a tune that you can put on and take off easily for warranty work. So not a whole lot to keep things in check for warranty unfortunately.

Ol'Rattler

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2006 BRM Jetta
Your new exhaust, some sort of after market intercooler, and a CAI are a waste of money. If you want actual performance gains, get a performance tune from a reputable tuner.

Mostly, CAI's are sold to the mouth breathing truck crowd using predatory advertising in the truck magazines. The factory TDI intake and exhaust are good for about double the stock HP.

At some point, the limiting factors for performance gain will be your turbo and injectors.

Last edited:

Maskraven01

TDI
2015 Jetta SEL TDI
So the best thing is to do a tune that can be easily taken off for warranty work. What turbo upgrade and injectors do you recommend

travis45

Veteran Member
TDI
14 Sportwagen, 96 Passat TDI Sedan