injection pump problem

jkb09

TDI
new beetle, jetta
I have a 99 New Beetle Tdi 1.9L. I am having some problems with it. Deisel is leaking from the fuel injector pump & I can't seem to get it stopped. I am fairly savy when it comes to engines but this is the first TDI I haved owned. Whats with the 1 long screw on the pump? Deisel is bubbling from that screw hole as well as the lower chamber seal on the pump. I replaced the top seal but was unsure on proceeding with others. Does that long screw have a gasket around it somewhere in the pump? I have read that the fuel temp sensor can cause some probs so I am replacing it as it only costs about $20. Any insight would be much appreciated. I love the little car and am currently not able to drive it!

cindry

TDI
98 jetta
my 98 jetta tdi is doing the same thing, i also replaced the top seal, no longer leaks, next seal down is leaking now, don't know if that seal can be accessed without removing pump from car, which i am not experienced with. i guess it is a trip to the vw shop for a reseal job on the whole pump.

Naimanator

Veteran Member
TDI
Silver 2002 Golf GLS TDI
I'm not sure what you guys mean by the "top seal", but I had a leaky injection pump leading to a "no start" situation a few months back. I replaced the pump head o-ring and that fixed the situation.

A replacement o-ring, as well as a complete walkthrough of the repair procedure can be found here: http://www.dieselgeek.com/servlet/Detail?no=430

Good luck!

Powder Hound

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'00 Golf 4dr White 5sp, '02 Jettachero 5sp, Wife's '03 NB Platinum Gray auto(!)