www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 26th, 2012, 09:16   #1
mrrhtuner
Veteran Member
 
mrrhtuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London Ont Canada
Smile Want to install VW 6-cd changer with current Monsoon DD deck

hello everybody, I tried to search but haven't found a thread that has an answer for my question.

I have a 04 Jetta with the following Monsoon double din CD/Tape player:





I have located a OEM VW 6-CD changer that I would like to purchase and install it in our jetta.

Would this setup work? I know I need to make sure I have the rectangle connector for the changer but are there any other issues or is it a plug and play setup?


Thank you!
mrrhtuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 09:42   #2
volmaniac
Veteran Member
 
volmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: McFadden's Ford, Stones River NMP M'boro, TN
TDI(s): 02 Golf GLS
Fuel Economy: around 50 mpg
Default

Is the CD player from a Mark IV model? ETKA shows cd changer model numbers 1j5 035 111 A and 1j6 035 111 X for the 2004. If so there should be a plug for 6 CD changer in the trunk (and a bracket to mount it). If the bracket is not there you would need either a 1j5 035 201 D or a 1j0 035 234 A (side) bracket. You may have to recode the head unit using VCDS (vag-com), although it may "recognize" the player when you hook it up. I have the phatnoise and did not have to do any programming that I recall (been in for around 8 years though).
__________________
2002 gls golf

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxracer1 View Post
Wars are fought over religion, money, land, and brand of injectors for a TDI

Last edited by volmaniac; November 26th, 2012 at 09:46.
volmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 10:02   #3
Genesis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Niceville, FL
Fuel Economy: 53/48/42
Default

If the cable is back there it should work. I have a hacked PhatBox back there on the plug in my car, but I have the same head unit and the original intent for that plug is the 6-CD changer.
Genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 10:22   #4
jettawreck
Veteran Member
 
jettawreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Minnesota-55744
Fuel Economy: 52+ average lifetime '01
Default

I had the changer in the 2000 Jetta. Never again. It was always getting jambed or cd error. I prefer the single in dash or like above, the PhatBox I have in the 03.
If the wire harness is in the changer location, I'm sure it will plug/play, but you may have to recode the headunit w/VCDS. Maybe/maybe not, but either way, if ir were me, I'ld save the bother and aggravation.
__________________

2001 Jetta TDI GLS Silver-current driver (salvage)permanently vented-Panzer Plate-Sprint 520s-ScanGauge-CheckTemp III-ZeroStart heater-CAT 2 filter
2003 Jetta GLS Black w/leather (New Project Car) fixer-upper w/broken TB
2004 Cadillac SLS (wife's)
1999 GMC Suburban (It's MN-you need one)
197? Shibura 2cyl diesel 4WD tractor-loader/brushhog (very handy unit)
196? International TD340 Dozer-w/Drott 4-in-1 bucket/back ripper attachment
jettawreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 10:25   #5
Genesis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Niceville, FL
Fuel Economy: 53/48/42
Default

The hacked Phatbox I have in mine (~100GB disk) is insane and amazing; I love it. I could drive several times across the country and never hear the same song twice.

Incidentally you can remove the Phatbox from its case and it will then fit (just sitting, no mounting required) in the factory foamed place for the CD changer, which is EXTREMELY nice as it's completely hidden from view. I've had mine set that way now for years.
Genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 10:50   #6
jettawreck
Veteran Member
 
jettawreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Minnesota-55744
Fuel Economy: 52+ average lifetime '01
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genesis View Post
The hacked Phatbox I have in mine (~100GB disk) is insane and amazing; I love it. I could drive several times across the country and never hear the same song twice.

Incidentally you can remove the Phatbox from its case and it will then fit (just sitting, no mounting required) in the factory foamed place for the CD changer, which is EXTREMELY nice as it's completely hidden from view. I've had mine set that way now for years.
The one I have came in the car when IT bought it, so it's in the changer's location. The prior owner didn't even know it was there, so he didn't have the dock for it. A nice member on here borrowed me his so I could erase the recorded audio books and load my tunes.
Yes, I like it.
__________________

2001 Jetta TDI GLS Silver-current driver (salvage)permanently vented-Panzer Plate-Sprint 520s-ScanGauge-CheckTemp III-ZeroStart heater-CAT 2 filter
2003 Jetta GLS Black w/leather (New Project Car) fixer-upper w/broken TB
2004 Cadillac SLS (wife's)
1999 GMC Suburban (It's MN-you need one)
197? Shibura 2cyl diesel 4WD tractor-loader/brushhog (very handy unit)
196? International TD340 Dozer-w/Drott 4-in-1 bucket/back ripper attachment
jettawreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 11:25   #7
mrrhtuner
Veteran Member
 
mrrhtuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London Ont Canada
Default

Hello everybody,

The headunit that I have in my car is the one that came with it, I never replaced it. I have a 2004 Jetta TDI and the headunit looks like the one above...pretty much the same thing I'm guessing.

In my trunk, to the left I do have the 6-cd changer cable and the little plastic thing that looks like it would mount to.

I was just more concerned of it working with my headunit, considering the head unit I have has a CD/Tape slot.

mrrhtuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 12:29   #8
jettawreck
Veteran Member
 
jettawreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Minnesota-55744
Fuel Economy: 52+ average lifetime '01
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrrhtuner View Post
Hello everybody,

The headunit that I have in my car is the one that came with it, I never replaced it. I have a 2004 Jetta TDI and the headunit looks like the one above...pretty much the same thing I'm guessing.

In my trunk, to the left I do have the 6-cd changer cable and the little plastic thing that looks like it would mount to.

I was just more concerned of it working with my headunit, considering the head unit I have has a CD/Tape slot.

CD changer will work as it should, but you may/may not have to recode the headunit w/VCDS.
__________________

2001 Jetta TDI GLS Silver-current driver (salvage)permanently vented-Panzer Plate-Sprint 520s-ScanGauge-CheckTemp III-ZeroStart heater-CAT 2 filter
2003 Jetta GLS Black w/leather (New Project Car) fixer-upper w/broken TB
2004 Cadillac SLS (wife's)
1999 GMC Suburban (It's MN-you need one)
197? Shibura 2cyl diesel 4WD tractor-loader/brushhog (very handy unit)
196? International TD340 Dozer-w/Drott 4-in-1 bucket/back ripper attachment
jettawreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 13:05   #9
mrrhtuner
Veteran Member
 
mrrhtuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London Ont Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jettawreck View Post
CD changer will work as it should, but you may/may not have to recode the headunit w/VCDS.

Great! hope the recode won't be too of a problem
mrrhtuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2012, 14:20   #10
Genesis
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Niceville, FL
Fuel Economy: 53/48/42
Default

Yeah you just hit the "CD" button to cycle between the changer and the built-in slot. Works fine and in most cases it won't need to be recoded (it might be, but most of the time they plug right in and work unchanged.)
Genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2018, 22:20   #11
gayle
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Ventura
Default

where would I find this in my 2003 golf my radio plays cds but I do not know where the changer is.
gayle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2018, 22:21   #12
gayle
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Ventura
Default

there has to be a changer somewhere in this little car because it is playing a cd from somewhere in my car, the stero does not have a place to insert a cd
gayle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2018, 05:47   #13
jettawreck
Veteran Member
 
jettawreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Minnesota-55744
Fuel Economy: 52+ average lifetime '01
Default

If OEM, open trunk and on the left side is a compartment you open with two turn knobs. Open the compartment and it should be in there. It's dark and black. A good light will help.

Just noticed you have a golf, not a Jetta sedan, so location may be different.
__________________

2001 Jetta TDI GLS Silver-current driver (salvage)permanently vented-Panzer Plate-Sprint 520s-ScanGauge-CheckTemp III-ZeroStart heater-CAT 2 filter
2003 Jetta GLS Black w/leather (New Project Car) fixer-upper w/broken TB
2004 Cadillac SLS (wife's)
1999 GMC Suburban (It's MN-you need one)
197? Shibura 2cyl diesel 4WD tractor-loader/brushhog (very handy unit)
196? International TD340 Dozer-w/Drott 4-in-1 bucket/back ripper attachment
jettawreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2018, 14:14   #14
gayle
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Ventura
Default

Yes I have a panel in the hatch area marked sound it looks to be only the amp could there be a cd changer in front of it that I cant see or is there another place it may be?
he radio is blowing the fuse and my cel lamp does not come on at key test so I am trying to figure out where the short is the care runs fine can not pass smog yet.
gayle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2018, 14:15   #15
gayle
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Ventura
Default reply

Yes I have a panel in the hatch area marked sound it looks to be only the amp could there be a changer in from of it that I cant see or is there another place it may be?
he radio is blowing the fuse and my cel lamp does not come on at key test so I am trying to figure out where the short is the care runs fine can not pass smog yet.
gayle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VW Sony 6 CD Changer glove Box Install alecmac VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 0 March 22nd, 2007 15:52
2004 Jetta TDI/DD Monsoon stereo CD changer trouble scanchattanooga VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 3 June 19th, 2006 10:52
XM commander install - 03 Golf Monsoon DD 67elky Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 3 December 30th, 2003 18:17
Radio Navigation Install Help ('03 DD Monsoon) punkassjimmy Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 16 December 4th, 2003 02:48
6 Disc CD Changer or Kenwood mp3 deck? purduealum91 TDI 101 1 September 22nd, 2001 18:59


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16259 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 129.31 Kb. compressed to 108.31 Kb. by saving 21.00 Kb. (16.24%)]