2006 Jetta BRM ( Low Power , Black Smoke at Low RPM )

jwalkington

TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
Hello all,

I recently bought a 2006 Jetta TDI. I bought it cheap because it had an issue. The car itself is in nice shape with only 124k miles. It runs and drives just has low power at low rpm and spits smoke out until 2k ish RPM. I got the car home and noticed that the intercooler was busted in two places. I went ahead and replaced the intercooler and it did help but did not solve the problem. It has similar symptoms to a BRM with a bad actuator. However I checked the actuator and it held vacuum. I also checked to ensure I had good vacuum going to the actuator and I did. I have also performed regular maintenance (change oil, air filter, fuel filter) I bought VCDS and have only used it on this car so im a novice. I cleared the codes after everything I have done thus far and the same codes came back with the addition of P0299 Boost Pressure Regulation (control range not reached) Codes are as follows:

Boost Pressure Regulation
P0299 - 000 - Control Range Not Reached - Intermittent

Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70)
P0101 - 000 - Implausible Signal

EGR System
P0401 - 000 - Insufficient Flow

The previous owner told me that a new cam was installed and did give me a receipt for it. (approx 10k miles on it)

I have not pulled the EGR yet to see if it is functioning.. Because I read that you can get this code if you have a boost leak as well. The MAF Sensor is a Bosch and looks fairly new. However I do not know how old it is. I did pull it and clean it with appropriate cleaner.

I am not sure how the cars are supposed to sound going down the road. When I am driving normally at any speed where the RPM's are at leak 2k I can hear a whistle with my windows up and radio off, Even at highway speeds. I feel it is louder than is should be for a stock car.

So I feel like I still have a boost leak somewhere..

Whats my next step?

Last edited:

sptsailing

Veteran Member
TDI