Slightly overfilled 5-speed tranny fluid - ok?

Ferrari

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Golf GLS TDI
I changed my 05 Golf TDI's 5-speed manual transmission fluid (I used the synthetic G 052 171 A2) and since the car had it's front wheels on the ramp and the rear wheels on the ground, I put in 2 full bottles (2L) without any fluid dripping out of the fill hole.

Will 2L of fluid do any damage or will it create extra pressure inside the tranny casing? Should I leave it as it is?

TDI
2004 golf
I think thats pretty standard procedure. Its barely over that amount, and you might "seep" a little from seals, etc, over many miles. I have always just put in 2 liters.

how do you like that synth G52? Its expensive IIRC.

Ferrari

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Golf GLS TDI
Awesome, good to hear.

I have 2 PD-TDIs in the family and I've been using the synthetic G052 in the other one for about 10 months now. Shifting has always been smooth, and cold weather shifting has improved over the Redline D4 ATF I used to use before. I only drove the car mentioned above for a few hundred km with the new tranny fluid and it feels good, albeit identical to the Redline D4 I used previously.

The oil was $86 for 2L from my local dealership. It's expensive, but since I'll only change it every 80K km, it's worth it.

tditom

Top Post Dawg
TDI
formerly: 2001 Golf GL, '97 Passat (RIP) '98 NB, '05 B5 sedan
Ferrari said:
...The oil was $86 for 2L from my local dealership. It's expensive, but since I'll only change it every 80K km, it's worth it.
in my opinion, you are wasting your money changes the "lifetime" fluid that often. I ran with the original fill for 210K miles on my Golf. When I replaced it with VWG50, I saw no difference in performance. Same with my Passat with over 250K miles.

My recommendation is to change the gearbox fluid every 200K miles.

TDI
2004 golf