front end clunk?

Sweeps

Veteran Member
TDI
None currently. MK4/5/6 Jetta's in the past.
My 2000 Jetta clunks in the front end when going over bumps at city speeds. I am new to front wheel drive vehicles. It sounds and feels like bushings or something is loose under there.

Is there a common issue with these cars? Can anyone offer some insight!

I realize posting about these kind of things is extremely hard to diagnose without actually hearing it, but I am still throwing it out there!

jasonTDI

TDI GURU Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
20' RAM 3500 CCLB dually HO/Aisan. 2019 Cherokee 2.0T
It's the front swaybar bushings.

Replace them. But first look at the metal bracket and if it is humpbacked make sure you get the right bushing. If it's smooth you need the smooth one or a new bushing/bracket combo. Use some good caliper grease on them when installing. Also take the bolt out and get one the same length but that is THREADED to the end. It makes all the difference in the reassembly. 5 minutes vs. fighting it.

Sweeps

Veteran Member
TDI
Got my bushings and brackets yesterday, and installed them today, oh man what a difference!! Clunk is completly gone!! Feels so much tighter now, like a new car!

They really weren't that hard either, I even used the same bolt and it threaded right in no problems. Maybe the previous owner already got different bolts! Took me about 30 minutes.

:D

LNXGUY

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'05 Jetta TDI Wagon
Good deal man, I gotta replace those suckers to :) What was the total cost from the stealership if you don't mind me asking? Did you go with the upgraded TT bushings?

hagar

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 white Jetta 5sp & 2006 Mercedes CDI