ALH or BEW

Glenn B

TDI
2004 Jetta TDI
Hello I am new to the form and first post. I am going to look at a co-workers car this weekend it is 2004 Jetta TDI that he is selling. The car is in great shape leather int new tires clutch timing belt waterpump he told me $1500. Its a one owner car with 250km. its had a bit of a reduction in power and gone into limp mode during the last month. His mechanic checked it and reported cam lobe failure and possiable injector problem. Hes a salesman so almost all highway miles. I have being pricing parts on the net, but I am not sure yet if its a ALH or BEW engine or the difference of the two will the s/n tell me? Are they different engines, heads or just emissions? Thanks for any info for now.

diesel-dave

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 wagon TDI, 2003 wagon Tdi, 2013 Q7 Tdi
YUP you have an expensive issue on your hands

its not an ALH ( up to 03)
its the PD motor

SootFoot

Veteran Member
TDI
Sold
2004 would be a BEW. Sounds like complete cam failure. Expensive repair, but if he is only asking $1500 for the entire car it would probably be worth it to have the cam repair done as long as its done by a reputable independent shop and not a dealer... dealers I think have charged as high as $5000 (US) for cam repair on the Pumpe Duese engines.

LiLredTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2004 jetta tdi pd-1989 Jetta IDI-1994 F-250 IDI Turbo
Most likely a BEW. If the body/interior are in good shape that is a great price snatch it up! Does it have a small chrome strip running around the circumference of the body at the top of the idiot strip? If so it is a 2004 to 2005 1/2.

If you lift the hood and find a visibile injector pump it is an 2003 with an ALH engine.

If ya get the cam and TB replaced it should cost aprox. 2K.

If your turbo is shot that is about another grand. I happen to have a turbo/manifild for a BEW for sale if you need one.

Hope this helps...............Frank

diesel-dave

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 wagon TDI, 2003 wagon Tdi, 2013 Q7 Tdi