Blinking Glow plug Warning Light and Check Engine Light

balocco211

TDI
2005 Wolfsburg TDI JSW; 2010 Poblano TDI JSW
Blinking Glow Plug Warning Light and Check Engine Light - Bad Exhaust Temp Sensor

2010 JSW with 14k - while driving today got warning tone and then blinking glow plug warning Light and Check Engine Light. (Engine service also noted on MFD at next start up after warning light inital illumination)

Lights remain at restarts.

Preform 10k service but reset MFD service reminder only.

Are there known issues? Perfer to avoid Oregon VWoA Dealer network at all costs....

Any thoughts?

Last edited:

RzTen1

TDI
2011 JSW TDI DSG
Do you know someone with an OBD II tool or VCDS? You'll need to pull the error code(s) to determine what's causing the light.

Some shops will do a scan for free, you might try calling around.

I'm still kinda new to the car, so I can't say how serious this light combination might be.

Last edited:

740GLE

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 Passat SEL, 2017 Alltrack SE; BB 2010 Sedan Man; 2012 Passat,
Dealer should be able to fix it for free, but it's alway nice knowing what codes are on the car before taking it in to them. With such a new car, problems with EGR, emissions or what ever it's gonna cost quite a bit even if you take it to a Guru.

OldManWinter

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf Wagon 2010
Is it really cold in oregon today? My intercooler iced up when the air was humid then got really cold (-20c) and that resulted in a blinked glowplug light an Check engine message.

balocco211

TDI
Black electrical tape over warning lights would solve

Thanks to all so far.

I will find an independent mechanic this morning to source the VAG code or SAE p-code for error.

Last night after this post when traffic was sparse I tried greater the 15 minute drive faster than 37 mph to burn the particulate filter clean. - Didn't work.

OMW,
Temps were only in the mid thirties last couple of days. Wife's short trips might be source.

Stay tuned.

balocco211

TDI