Bad day for my new golf

Moparnut88

TDI
2004 Jetta, 2011 golf
Just bought this car on the 27th of december and have been in love with it. I came from an 04 Jetta with 320k miles. A guy in an f250 turned into me. Insurance says totaled I've got lots of body shop experience and fab skills. Just tring to locate parts if we decide to buy it back. The headlight housing seems to be harder to find used than I thought. What's everybody's thoughts let it go and replace it or fix it. Hate to let it go there aren't very many left as is. If we decide to let it go I'll be looking for another one if someone has something. Thnks!

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

turbobrick240

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2011 vw golf tdi(gone to greener pastures), 2001 ford f250 powerstroke
I'd let it go. That looks like serious structural damage. Great parts car though if you can get it cheap.

Moparnut88

TDI
2004 Jetta, 2011 golf
I'm gonna try to get it back cheap. I bought this car with an extra engine as well. Was planning on keeping it a long time.

bizzle

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 GSW SEL (totaled), 2013 Touareg Executive
I don't think there is any reason to bring that, or really any CR, back from the dead. They aren't rare and are only a small part of an already niche market. If it has a stick that opens up your options for replacement since you won't have to worry about finding a stick in your trim/color/price range.

If I was in your situation, I'd sell off both engines, part the car if you have the time/guts/desire, take the insurance payout, and then buy a 2015. It all depends on the numbers, but you should be able to come out of this in pretty good shape long term.

Moparnut88

TDI
2004 Jetta, 2011 golf