need help with VCDS codes

dsmith6598

TDI
2005.5 Jetta TDI BRM
need help with VCDS codes SOLVED

need some basic help on what to do next.
symptoms:
much reduced power (especially up an incline)
ALOT of smoke with acceleration
2 Faults Found:
005661 - Glowplug for Cylinder 4 (Q13): Open Circuit
P161D - 000 - -
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 01110000
Fault Priority: 0
Fault Frequency: 8
Mileage: 267542 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2000.00.00
Time: 00:38:31
Freeze Frame:
RPM: 798 /min
Speed: 0.0 km/h
Load: 0.0 %
Voltage: 14.06 V
Bin. Bits: 00001100
Temperature: 23.4�C
Bin. Bits: 10110000
000257 - Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70): Implausible Signal
P0101 - 000 - -
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 01110000
Fault Priority: 0
Fault Frequency: 1
Mileage: 270307 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2000.00.00
Time: 23:43:50
Freeze Frame:
RPM: 2310 /min
Speed: 84.0 km/h
Temperature: 27.9�C
Absolute Pres.: 999.6 mbar
Mass Flow: 24.18 g/s
(no units): 2.59
Temperature: 82.8�C
Readiness: 1 2 0 0 0
I am not a mechanic by any means but would like to fix it myself if possible.
any help would be appreciated
Doug

Last edited:

Seatman

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2014 Skoda rapid elegance 1.6 cr tdi
I think the maf one is the one you want to look into, it's the one thing that could cause your problems, try unplugging it and see if there's any improvement. You could also try cleaning it, there's various stuff around here about that but I don't have any pages bookmarked, a search should bring something up though. You could also try testing the maf with vcds/vagcom if you have it. :)

http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/a4/MAF-sensor-testing-VW-cleaner.htm

dsmith6598

TDI
2005.5 Jetta TDI BRM
reset error codes and....

reset codes and thru CEL again. now only shows glow-plug#4 error again.

using 10.6.0 vcds... don't see MAF under any of my groups. EGR is #3

any suggestions?

I guess putting in a glow-plug is probably a start.

-doug

A5INKY

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI, 2002 Eurovan Westphalia VR6